What a disappointment: Lunatick Labs Hocus Pocus Palette

I ordered the Lunatick Labs Hocus Pocus palette almost without thinking. I mean, look at this packaging. It’s so spookily awesome:

Lunatick Labs Hocus Pocus Palette

And the colors appeared to be perfect for me– a good mix of Halloween brights I could use to break out of my normal shade range. AND A BAT MIRROR, YOU GUYS.

Lunatick Labs Hocus Pocus Palette

I’d heard good things about Lunatick’s lipstick shades from bloggers I trust, and so I took the plunge on this palette, which is named after one of my favorite movies of all time, Hocus Pocus. Here are the shades:

Sacrifice, Lime Lagoon

Sacrifice, Lime Lagoon

Phantom Craft, Omen, Pumpkin Queen

Phantom Craft, Omen, Pumpkin Queen

Unfortunately, the packaging was, by far, the best thing about this total dud of a palette. I haven’t been this let down by a product in a long time. I would go as far as to say that the performance of these colors was so abysmal, I would consider the site swatches to be very near to false advertising.

Here are the colors, swatched with an Urban Decay shadow brush over bare skin, carefully layering the color several times to see how many it’d take to get something decent looking:

All shades swatched over bare skin, with 4+ passes of each color

All shades swatched over bare skin, with 4+ passes of each color

And here’s the same over primer (Too Faced Shadow Insurance), again, very carefully building the color with multiple passes:

All shades swatched over primer, with 4+ passes of each color

All shades swatched over primer, with 4+ passes of each color

This is a very carefully built up swatch, and it's STILL patchy as ish.

This is a very carefully built up swatch, and it’s STILL patchy as ish.

You could probably go to the dollar store, get some sidewalk chalk, grind it up and press it, and probably still have better luck than what you get with this palette, which cost $35 + shipping.

Primer + 1 swipe, 2 swipes, 3 swipes.

Primer + 1 swipe, 2 swipes, 3 swipes.

The formula is so powdery it does not adhere to the skin properly. Here’s how much dust it kicked up after two swatches of each shade:

The aftermath of two swatches per color.

The aftermath of two swatches per color.

Overall, this palette is pretty frankly unacceptable. I can’t imagine why a brand would want to release such a sub-par product under their name– a product that is practically unusable.

According to Lunatick’s site, they take returns within a week of receipt. I got mine on the 1st, so I should be good to go. I rarely ever return makeup. Even when I end up with a perfect dupe, I think, “well, there’s nothing wrong with the product, so I’d feel bad returning.” I think I’ve returned two products in as many years, both because they were defective. This? This I’m returning. I feel bad because it’s an indie brand and not, say, Ulta or Sephora, but tbh, Lunatick should not have put out a palette this poor in the first place.

4 thoughts on “What a disappointment: Lunatick Labs Hocus Pocus Palette

  1. I was attracted to Lunatick’s packaging and have wanted to try them for awhile, but your review has made me reconsider – thanks for posting this!

    • Come on you go by one review I heard so many good things about this product fro you tubers that I watch who do make up. And they work wonders for me. So what a little dust left behind every make up I used does that from drugstore brands to nyx it what the brush does. The colors are so vibrate and feel silky smooth I am not going to let one review ruin buying this product.

Leave A Reply

