Solstice Scents Review, Part 2

Solstice Scents, Part 2

Way back in February, I started a Solstice Scents review that I never quite finished. The reason is that I rarely wear perfume at home anymore. My kitty, Nox, has intestinal lymphoma, and one of the side effects of one of his medications is that he goes through cycles where he is VERY sensitive to scent. If he gets overwhelmed by too much scent, it affects his appetite. He started one of those cycles in the middle of my testing, and as Solstice Scents are the absolute strongest and most potent perfume oils I’ve ever tried, I discontinued testing them. He’s doing a lot better, which has allowed me to resume some scent-wearing (and candle-making), so now is as good a time as ever to finish those reviews!

COVERED BRIDGE – The Foxcroft Collection – Woods, Moss, Leaves, Wood Smoke, Dirt, Ozone, Fir Absolute

The opening notes are wet wood, dirt, and smoke. It’s a very very realistic woodlands blend, complete with notes of fresh Autumn air. I expected this to be similar to The Night Watcher, but it’s got a lot less cedar/balsalm/fir going on, and no tart berry note. Overall, I’d call this woodsy and unisex. I like it as a perfume, but it would also be amazing as an atmostpheric spray.

HIDDEN LODGE – Woodland Collection –  Dry Wood Blend, Oud, Woodsmoke, Spices, Castoreum

This, too, is a woody blend, but with the addition of a dry spice. The overall impression I got while it was wet was firewood and cardamom pods. However, after a few minutes, a weird note that I couldn’t place developed. It smelled feral in a bad way– musky and greasy. Like civet but not as dry. I actually checked to see if my cat hadn’t made a mess near me, because it smelled… kind of like when my boycat gets anal gland stank on something. Of the notes listed, the only one I was unfamiliar with was castoreum, so I googled what it smells like. One person described it as smelling like “the business end of a beaver.” Another like urine and cheese. Yep, that’s the culprit alright. YECH. I had to scrub this one off. It was terrible on me.

LIBRARY – The Manor Collection – Leather Bound Books, A Carved Rosewood Mantle, Dying Fireplace Embers, Wood Wainscoting, Cedar Shelving and Aged Paper

Soft brown leather, lignin, and a touch of rosewood. Oh, yeah. This one smells like a cozy library, and a day spent indoors by the fire. I want to slather my Kindle cover in this.

MAPLEWOOD INN –  The Foxcroft Collection – Maple, Woods, Amber, Benzoin, A Roaring Fire & A Hot Cup Of Frothy Vanilla Chai

When initially applied, I smell a woody scent with a strong maple sugar note. As it dries, much of the maple sweetness settles, leaving a smoky fireplace and amber scent. Many of the scents I chose for my samples had similar notes, so it’s unsurprising to me that this one smells similarly to several others I sampled. They all have very similar smoke + woods bases, but with differing top notes. This is cozy and nice.

MONARCH – The Woodland Collection – Rich Red Musk, Fir, Juniper, Cedar, Frankincense, Labdanum, Moss

Red musk, juniper, and frankincense when wet. Red musk, juniper, and frankincense when dry. Something about the way the juniper and the frankincense are combining just isn’t doing it for me– they are merging together to create something that smells like grape incense. It’s not unpleasant, but it’s also just not my cuppa.

SMOKY MOUNTAIN MALLOW – Wood Smoke, Fossilized Amber Resin, Lapsang Souchong CO2, Guaiacwood, Labdanum, Nutmeg EO, Marshmallow

MMMMMMM. Super smoky wood with the faintest hint of marshmallow. The marshmallow comes out more as it dries, but it’s not a sticky-sweet marshmallow, tempered as it is by dry nutmeg. A supremely comforting scent, and one of roasting sweets over an Autumn campfire.

Leave A Reply

