Fae Look #1

I think it was the first time I ever saw Merlin (the 1998 miniseries) that I became enchanted with faery folklore. While not technically fae in this version (I don’t think), Queen Mab had all the hallmarks of Unseelie royalty. And I was obsessed, OBSESSED, with her makeup. It’s pretty darn hard to find decent screengrabs that show the finer points of iridescent makeup in an older show, but she was all smoky eyes and shimmering blue glitter. It was amazing.

Obsessssssssssssed.

Obsessssssssssssed.

Queen Mab: way ahead of the purple lipstick trend.

Queen Mab: way ahead of the purple lipstick trend.

I just got back from vending and performing at the Spoutwood Faerie Festival. I wasn’t able to do full-on fae makeup, since I was performing bellydance all weekend, and so when it came time for me to shoot promo shots of a few pieces I’m about to list on my site, I decided to hell with it, bring on the glitter. I think there’s going to be a learning curve with me as far as the photographing goes– I am practically COATED in glitter, and yet very little of it showed up on camera. Also, I’ll have to remember to go darker next time with the eye shadow, since it appears significantly lighter than it does IRL. You live and you learn. Fae Look #1

Here’s the product list:

Face: 

Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation – Light 48

Clinique – Cheek Pop Blush in Berry Pop

Darling Girl Cosmetics – Prometheus Stardust (patted on cheekbones)

Life’s Entropy – Proton Particle Contour Stick

Eyes:

Too Faced – Shadow Insurance primer

Femme Fatale Cosmetics – The Nightmare

Femme Fatale Cosmetics – Secret Shiny

Femme Fatale Cosmetics – Alpine Skies

Femme Fatale Cosmetics – Sugar Rush

Femme Fatale Cosmetics – Icemist Diamond

BareMinerals – Statement

BareMinerals – Pret-a-Porter

Makeup Geek – Gel Liner in Immortal

Stila – Stay All Day Waterproof Eye Liner in Intense Black

Urban Decay – 24/7 Eye Pencil in Asphyxia

Jordana Easyliner – Silver Lilac (on brows)

Nyx – Color Mascara in Purple/Violet

Lips:

Too Faced – Melted Metallics in Melted Jelly Donut

Urban Decay – Moondust Shadow in Solstice (patted over top)

Fae Look #1

Woe, I am so sad the highlighter I used just didn’t show up on camera like I wanted it to. I used Alpine Skies, which is giving my cheekbones the most otherworldly blue sheen. You can see the purple mascara here, though, which I’m of mixed feelings on. It just wasn’t as generally opaque as I wanted it to be.

Fae Look #1 Fae Look #1

New obsession: patting UD Solstice Moondust on top of all of my lipsticks. I did it over a red Sephora stain this weekend and I looked like an awesome space witch. Will have to photograph that ASAP. Fae Look #1

A sort-of close-up where you can see the glitter. Fae Look #1 Fae Look #1

And a moody indoors shot in blue-ish lighting, MUCH DRAMA. Fae Look #1

So that was my first attempt. There will be more. Because god knows, I love me some glitter.

6 thoughts on “Fae Look #1

    • Oh, I’m gonna recreate the space witch lips. Because they were AWESOME. (And also patting the shimmer on top makes the lipstick last twice as long.)

  1. Wow this is amazing! I’m inspired to be a fairy for Halloween this year just so I could do this look. Heck I might do it just for fun! I think it looks absolutely gorgeous and I love your necklace!

Leave A Reply

