Review: Clean Line Soap Company

A review for Clean Line Soap Company, purveyor of handmade soap, lotion sticks, shampoo bars, and lip balm. This post is about two months in the making. THE SUSPENSE.

Clean Line Soap Company

First of all, USPS didn’t deliver my package. Oh yes, the tracking number said “delivered.” My packages? They were not in my (locked) mailbox, my (locked) parcel box, nor were they delivered to me when I needed to sign for an international package that same day. Two other packages that day were similarly marked delivered, but weren’t. It took me two weeks and approximately fifteen years on the phone with USPS (including filing a claim with their inspection service) to get my package delivered, and even then, they delivered to my neighbor by mistake. The USPS is continuing to earn my ire, is what I’m saying. Thankfully, my soaps were unharmed, considering they were godknowswhere for several weeks.

My initial order was three soaps: Yuzu Rainbow, Kentish Rain, and Arctica. When that package arrived, Arctica had been swapped for Fresh Roses. I contacted the proprietress, Jessica, who got back to me in a friendly, professional, and prompt manner to let me know she would fix the error ASAP and get me a bar of Arctica. I know that the ideal is to get orders right every time, but as someone who ALSO runs a one-person business, sometimes accidents happen when you’re packing orders at OHGODWHENCANISLEEP o’clock at night, and so for me, personally, my real estimation of a company comes when there’s a whoopsie. How does a company respond when something is wrong? In this case, Jessica passed with flying colors, and even gifted me an extra lip balm for my trouble. (I also got to keep the Fresh Roses bar, which is awesome because it was next on my wishlist).

So, after all that waiting, how did the products fare? Onto the reviews!

Kentish Rain Goat Milk Soap

Kentish Rain Goat Milk Soap

Kentish Rain: This earthy, green goat milk soap smells like the countryside after a summer rain. This wonderful handmade soap smells of petrichor, of basil, green leaf and ozone.

This is a really pleasant-smelling unisex soap. I wouldn’t call it earthy– I’d say it’s sort of a mix of ozone and basil, with the barest hint of Irish Spring. It’s not particularly strongly scented, but it does give off a very fresh, clean vibe. Kinda like really fancy hotel soap. You know, the kind that they don’t give to just anybody.

Arctica Goat Milk Soap

Arctica Goat Milk Soap

Arctica: This beautiful icy blue homemade soap smells like the air after a fresh fallen snow to me, clean and a little sweet.

I bought this for my husband, who loves the scent of snow. It’s hard for me to put into words exactly how this smells. It’s not, as I thought it might be, very minty. There is some mint in the background, I think, just to give it that cold freshness, but it’s quite muted. I actually don’t know how to describe this other than to say it smells familiar– but that might be the goat milk base. I would call this unisex as well, but there’s a very surprising subdued floral note in it, like white winter flowers in frozen night air. Not what I expected, but still very nice.

Fresh Roses Goat Milk Soap

Fresh Roses Goat Milk Soap

Fresh Roses: This lovely, creamy goat milk soap smells of freshly cut roses. Swirled with rose pink and leafy green, and fragrant as a vase of fresh rose buds.

MMMM, this is a lovely, fresh tea rose scent. Again, the scent of the goat milk base is very present, but there’s something absolutely wonderfully soft and feminine about the overall scent. It’s almost a Victorian rose. I will feel like a Very Fancy Lady when it’s time to unwrap this one.

Yuzu Rainbow Soap

Yuzu Rainbow Soap

Yuzu Rainbow: This yuzu rainbow homemade soap smells as delicious as it is colorful. Sparkling citrus scent shines in this soap as beautifully as the rainbow colors that are spread throughout the handmade bar.

This is the one I was super excited for. For one, omg rainbows. I am nothing if not predictable in that respect. For two, I love Yuzu, and every Spring, I go on a major citrus kick. This is the only soap I received that was not goat-milk based, and truly, I think that’s a great choice for letting the citrus shine. The best way I can describe Yuzu to non-Asian audiences is that it smells, to me, kind of like a mix of citruses you’re already familiar with. There’s the sweetness of orange, but the biting tartness of lime and grapefruit. Very, very refreshing! A total delight to bathe with.

Bonus shots for just how pretty this bar is:

Yuzu Rainbow Soap

Yuzu Rainbow Soap

Yuzu Rainbow Soap

Yuzu Rainbow Soap

It’s like happiness in soap form.

As for an overall review– none of these soaps are extremely strong in scent, but they’re not poorly scented either. They’re pretty middle-of-the-road as far as scent intensity goes– they’re not going to bowl you over, but you’re also not going to be struggling to sniff the fragrance. They feel very nice and silky on the skin. The beautiful marbling and colors makes them an excellent gifting choice.

Freebies!

The Freebies!

The Freebies!

The two packages I received contained samples of Apricot Freesia (more strongly scented than the other bars, imo, and very heavy on the freesia– if you love fruity florals, get this one!), Ginger Lime (a mix of both elements, neither particularly strong), and Cherry Blossom (unremarkable, not-fancy-people hotel soap).

And the lip balm:

Peppermint Lip Balm

Peppermint Lip Balm

How well you like this balm is going to depend on how well your lips tolerate peppermint. I know that it can be very drying to some, but others can’t get enough. Unfortunately, I am very much in the “drying” camp, so I am not the best person to review this balm. Objectively I can say that the balm feels very moisturizing and has a good amount of slip. It’s not overly thick, but not thin and runny, either. The peppermint is very strong, so mintophiles, check this one out!

Overall, I had a very pleasant experience with this company! I’d love to check out the lotion bars as soon as I get through my current stack of lotions!

Leave A Reply

