Recent-ish Nails

Hello all! I have been remiss in updating my blog. I’m about to head out to sunny Ocean City, MD for the annual Art of the Belly bellydance convention, so I’ve been doubletiming it working on stock to sell at my booth (and practicing with my troupe, Transcendence– we will be performing on Saturday). I have barely touched makeup in weeks. I haven’t actually painted my nails in two weeks, unless you count the pinkish stain they’ve taken on from re-dyeing my hair two days ago. But at least there will be some fun stage makeup posts coming up!

In the meanwhile, I have some older manis that I did earlier in the month, and a couple of mini reviews!

Digital Nails Hyperbole over Emily De Molly Lace Man

Digital Nails Hyperbole over Emily De Molly Lace Man

Digital Nails Hyperbole over Emily De Molly Lace Man

Digital Nails Hyperbole over Emily De Molly Lace Man

Mani #1 is Hyperbole, Digital Nails‘s gooooorgeous multi-flakie topper, over Emily De Molly‘s Lace Man, a periwinkle-grey with strong pink shimmer. While my first instinct was to put Hyperbole over a darker shade (where it legit looks like a black opal), it looks beautiful over lighter shades, too. Magical unicorn nails, no lie.

Here, have some bottle shots:

Digital Nails Hyperbole

Hyperbole

Hyperbole

Lace Man

Lace Man

I also picked up I See France, Digital Nails’ black undies polish, which is superbly pigmented and perfect for stamping. It is absolutely comparable to Cult Nails’ Nevermore. Those two are the two best black stamping polishes I’ve ever used. I haven’t yet used the masking fluid yet, but I will be reviewing that one once I return from travel.

I See France, Hyperbole, Questionable Browser History Liquid Latex Masking Fluid

I See France, Hyperbole, Questionable Browser History Liquid Latex Masking Fluid

??? over Smitten Polish's Bifrost

Cirque Polish XXX over Smitten Polish’s Bifrost

Mani #2 was done with one thin coat of Cirque‘s XXX over Smitten Polish‘s Bifrost, both of which I’ve reviewed on the blog before. This was an easy, pretty mani.

 

OPI Sheer Tints stamped  Vivid Lacquer Stamping Plate and Konad white stamping polish

OPI Sheer Tints stamped Vivid Lacquer Stamping Plate and Konad white stamping polish

Mani #3 was my first mani attempt using sheer tint polishes. The ones I used were by OPI, and I got a 4-count set of mini bottles for $5 on Amazon.

OPI Sheer Tints

OPI Sheer Tints – Yellow, Red, Blue, Purple

OPI Sheer Tints

 

To be honest, the formula on these was not great, which is why you see warping of the stamped pattern on my pointer finger. They are THIIIIIIICK. Very thick. Almost unusably thick. I’m going to have to thin them down considerably, and even so, the brushes in the mini bottles are warped and difficult to use. I *do* like the many options they give you– color correction, easy ombres, easy rainbows, easy coloring in of stamps– but the formula just needs work. I know that there are a few indie options on the market for the same idea– I’m going to have to test them to see if the formula’s any better. I’m accepting recs, please!

Okay! Back to the grindstone. I have to make at least 3 labradorite pendants before the day is through!

3 thoughts on “Recent-ish Nails

Leave A Reply

