Inaugural Order: Fierce Magenta, Swatches & Review

5/7/15 – ETA: I AM EDITING THIS POST IN THE WAKE OF SOME SERIOUSLY DISTURBING PICTURES OF THIS BRAND’S PRODUCTS. Please go check out the IMAM write up here. I cannot in good faith recommend this brand to anyone, because ew.

Cosmoberry, Layla Purple, Luna Green, Luna Blue, Summer Love

Cosmoberry, Layla Purple, Luna Green, Luna Blue, Summer Love

After being thoroughly enabled by the Indie Makeup & More Subreddit, I decided to take the plunge and make an order with Fierce Magenta, purveyor of duochrome lip products. I ended up getting the 5/$30 special, and I chose an array of shades, from sheer to fully pigmented.

Summer Love, Luna Blue, Cosmoberry, Luna Green, Layla Purple

Summer Love, Luna Blue, Cosmoberry, Luna Green, Layla Purple

Cosmoberry, Layla Purple

Cosmoberry, Layla Purple

Luna Green, Luna Blue, Summer Love

Luna Green, Luna Blue, Summer Love

How’d they fare? Well. Kind of a mixed bag.

For starters, since some of these are sheer, here’s a shot of my naked lips:

Naked Lips

They’re maybe a smidge rosier than they usually are, since they’re freshly exfoliated. But I’d call them pretty middle-of-the-road-white-person lips.

First up is Summer Love, a “holographic shimmery golden peachy lip gloss.” The listing says it can be built up in layers, if applied minutes apart. Ain’t nobody got time for that, so here’s one layer.

Their swatch.

My swatch:

Summer Love

Summer Love

Summer Love

Summer Love

Pretty, right? And also the most wearable of the shades I chose. I liked this very much.

Luna Blue:  “Clear and sheer, with a touch of blue shine lip gloss, and will be a perfect addition to your collection.”

Their swatch.

My swatch:

Luna Blue

Luna Blue

Luna Blue

Luna Blue

Luna Blue

Luna Blue

This was subtle but also very pretty. The interference blue lends a nice pearly effect that’s not too unwearable. I layered this over a few berry lipsticks, and the result was subtle, but pretty as well.

Luna Green: “Clear and sheer, with a touch of green shine lip gloss.”

Their swatch.

My swatch:

Luna Green

Luna Green

Luna Green

Luna Green

Granted, this is only one thick layer, but I wonder how many layers would be necessary to achieve the swatch they pictured, and how grossly gummy your lips would feel after applying them. The green is a little more apparent in real life than on camera, but Luna Green was more subtle than Luna Blue, even over dark lipsticks. I was hoping for something more akin to the site swatch. Alas.

Cosmoberry: “This dark brownish red lip gloss with green shimmer and a “glass effect” will be a perfect addition to your collection!”

Their swatch.

My Swatch:

Cosmoberry

Cosmoberry

Cosmoberry

Cosmoberry

Umm, these swatches came from the same color, really? Really? I swatched this color twice, and both times it was a pinky raspberry with some blueish interference. It is very pretty. It is, however, in no way “dark brownish red.” The duochrome/interference wasn’t very strong in person or on camera. I like the color for what it is, but am sad it’s not what was shown. I did a quick google search for other bloggers who have posted swatches of this shade, and theirs also look a bit browner than my swatch, but they were swatching in warm-toned indoor lighting, and I always swatch in natural light. It’s a mystery, is what I’m saying.

ETA: Then again, several noted that they put on several layers and blotted in between, waiting a few minutes between layers. Am I alone in thinking that’s a whole lotta work? That it shouldn’t take me 10 minutes to apply a lip gloss to get the company-swatched color?

And finally, my great regret of the batch, and one of my least favorite things I have ever put on my lips.

Purple Layla: “This is a black gloss with purple shimmer that can be seen under a certain light (mostly under sunlight). The light “plays” with the shimmer and you might not see the purple shine at certain angles, but once the light shines on your lips you will be able to see that purple shimmer. Might give off blueish purple as well at a certain light.”

Their swatch.

My swatch:

Layla Purple

Purple Layla

Layla Purple, aka THE WORST

Purple Layla, after 3 minutes.

Layla Purple

Purple Layla. As Cher Horowitz would say, “a full-on Monet.”

Oh god, this was A MESS. I should start by saying that when I revisited the listing while doing this write-up, I noticed a few lines that I hadn’t seen in any of the other listings for products I bought:

“How we apply the glosses: we do not apply glosses directly with the tube, but squeeze some gloss out of the tube on to flat surface (small plastic lid), and apply with the finger dipping it into the gloss. Make sure not to rub the gloss onto your lips, but to layer the gloss evenly.”

Hold up, so for this product, there’s a whole other way to apply it? Whoops. I applied it out of the tube, apparently wrong in my conclusion that the packaging’s applicator should be sufficient to apply the product. This is not, say, a Lip Tar, which clearly comes with a brush for application. It’s a slanted applicator tube. Which you’re not supposed to use? Confusing.

Anyway, for the swatches above, I applied carefully using the tube’s applicator, which I thought was the whole purpose of having a tube with an applicator. Yeah, I said carefully. I spent about two minutes trying to get it even, and that’s the closest I got. I then let it sit for three minutes. I had a sip of coffee. I smacked my lips once or twice. It got ERRRRWHERE.

I would like to know how on earth they got their swatch of Purple Layla if they didn’t put it over a liner or employ witchcraft. Frankly, the level of fuss and precision necessary to achieve the look presented in the company’s photos is patently absurd. Then again, they also claim that they don’t use photoshop, and I’m pretty sure peoples’ faces aren’t blurs with just the lips in focus like they are in their Purple Layla swach photos, so. But maybe it’s witchcraft. Let’s go with that.

What I do know is that I did like 4 out of 5 of the glosses I ordered, even if in a few cases, they did not meet my expectations based on the official photographs provided. I’m still potentially interested in some of their other shades (like Wild Plum!). But when it comes to Purple Layla? Steer clear, it’s a big ‘ol mess, start to finish. Unless you plan on layering this over black lipstick or pencil, it’s gonna look gross inside of five minutes.

Texture wise, these are all pretty slick and non-sticky. I did not notice a scent. They last about an hour to two hours, depending on if you’re drinking coffee or not– they do transfer quite a bit. But they also look really subtly cool, and I appreciate that they’re fairly unique in the makeup world.

Summer Love, Luna Blue, Luna Green

Summer Love, Luna Blue, Luna Green

Cosmoberry, Layla Purple

Cosmoberry, Layla Purple

So there you have it. Have you tried Fierce Magenta? What were your thoughts?

6 thoughts on “Inaugural Order: Fierce Magenta, Swatches & Review

  1. Wow. Those swatches from the company look… unrealistic. Also like the model has a solid inch of product on her lips – ew.

    I like the idea of these but I don’t think they’d be for me. Granted, lipstick on me only seems to last an hour at best anyway (and let’s not discuss how long glosses last) because I apparently can’t leave my lips alone.

      • Some of the blogs I follow do things like take a picture of what their lips look like after X hours and a meal, and half the time they look pretty good. I’m always left in awe because if I have a meal then all my lipstick is gone. No question. Do not pass go.

  2. Great swatches! And I have to say, I went over to their site and read ‘we do not use photoshop’ and looked at the blurred skin and went ‘errrr what?’ Maybe you don’t use Photoshop but you’re sure using some image editing program because no camera setting is going to deliver that level of blur. I might try them sometime but probably only if they have a sale. Agree that having an applicator that doesn’t work for the product is impractical and a bit silly!

Leave A Reply

