Ipsy February 2015 Glam Bag

February 2015 Ipsy Bag

My February 2014 glam bag was a big, hearty “meh.” The product I was most excited to get turned out to be a bust, and only one of the products in the bag was truly a hit.

I got:

* ModelCo Blush in Cosmopolitan

* City Color Creamy Lip Stain in Flirtini

* Emite Professional Eyelash Curler

* Eva NYC Up All Night Volumizing Spray

* Mitchell & Peach Fine Radiance Face Oil in Flora No. 1

To start off, two of the products were more or less useless to me. I don’t use a volumizing spray (though my hair is fine, it’s so long that sprays have no effect), and I almost never curl my lashes (they are so long that when I do, they smudge mascara all over my browbone). So starting off, we’re 0-2.

The Mitchell & Peach face oil was a surprise win for me, though! I honestly was not expecting to be excited about this product. Face oils are so BLEH to me, and as someone who breaks out easily, I always worry they’ll leave me a pimply, greasy mess. However, this winter has been brutal, and I have been feeling tight and dry around my nose and undereye area, so I tried some of this out. It feels WONDERFUL when worn. It does not leave me greasy, and it absorbs easily, leaving my skin feeling like silk. The delicate floral fragrance is also quite nice.

On to the color products:

ipsy1

ModelCo Blush in Cosmopolitan

ModelCo’s Cosmopolitan blush is a peachy pink. I didn’t even photograph my swatch it because there was no point. When I applied it, it sat atop my skin. When I blended it, it blended straight off. It was so powdery, it barely adhered to my skin at all. It’s a terrible formula, and it’s getting chucked. Garbage.

ipsy2

City Color’s Creamy Lip Stain in Flirtini is pretty so-so. It doesn’t stain. It’s also not, as purported, truly matte– it’s somewhere between a satin and a matte. Still, for all that, it does look nice on my lips, de-emphasizing dryness and lines. However, the mousse-like formula is a bit oily and it never really dries, which means it transfers on to EVERYTHING.  Plus it smells like if you melted plastic and mangoes together. Meh. A hearty, hearty meh.

ipsy4

Here is a shot of me wearing it: it’s not particularly representative of the color, but I needed to document just how much my hair was making me look like a Pretty Pretty Princess on that day.

I HAVE THE FLOOFIEST HAIR IN ALL THE LAAAAAND.

I HAVE THE FLOOFIEST HAIR IN ALL THE LAAAAAND.

So, that’s a wrap on February 2015. My last couple of bags have been pretty meh. Hopefully next month will be better. At least they’re not Birchbox, sending me foil shampoo samples every month.

7 thoughts on “Ipsy February 2015 Glam Bag

  1. Aww that’s disappointing. I just filmed my unboxing. I had high hopes for the lipstain and blush because I loved the colors when I swatched but haven’t had the time to try it. Ipsy is usually like that though. It’s either a hit or miss for me. This month was a hit and last month was a big miss. I think I got the evan-nye product that you got last month and I didn’t like it. Anyway great post. I enjoyed 🙂

    Btw, I love your hair color! It looks gorgeous on you!

  2. I was going to sub to IPSY but I keep seeing mixed reviews and I look at their hashtag on IG and get a glimpse. I’m not sure what to do yet. I am a BIRCHBOXer and I LOVE my boxes. You can check out mine so far on my IG @beautyplate. You can play around with your profile so you won’t keep getting hair products or what not. Just change your profile answers :))

    • I actually tried to change my profile, but I kept getting the same things in every box: a perfume sample, a hair product in a foil packet, and a face/body oil. Ad infinitum. I even got expired products! I ended up just giving up when I didn’t get any actual makeup for several months in a row. So in that sense, I’m much happier with Ipsy. There are usually two color products in each bag. Plus the bags themselves are really cute!

Leave A Reply

