Beauty Quickies!

Here are a bunch of mini-reviews of stuff in my queue that I need to clear out, but none really deserve their own post. I have LOTS of stuff in the queue that are just waiting on face swatches, etc. Hopefully I’m going to be able to make some time to do that later today!

Blooddrop Cloven Rose Flutter Body Cream

Blooddrop Cloven Rose Flutter Body Cream

This is Bloodrop‘s Flutter Body Cream in Cloven Rose.  I purchased it from The Rhinestone Housewife. It is a body cream with the most amazing whipped cream texture.

Blooddrop Cloven Rose Flutter Body Cream

Blooddrop Cloven Rose Flutter Body Cream

That just looks delicious, doesn’t it?  Anyway, I found that despite its very light, fluffy looks, this melts immediately on contact and actually goes on quite oily. That didn’t bother me, actually– my HG winter lotion is Cocoa Pink’s Voluptuous Body Butter, which is also quite oily. The issue I had with this is that the scent is so strong it overpowers everything around it. Seriously, it is stronger than just perfume. People will smell you across the room when you apply it. As I work for myself, that’s not a concern for me in general, but it might be a concern for others.

The scent here was a straight up clove and rose blend, very heavy smoky floral. I liked it, but it gave my husband a headache on the two occasions I wore it around him, likely because of how strong it is. It now lives with my friend Abby, who has pledged to love and cherish it. I’d be open to ordering other scents in this formula, but it appears most of the ones I’d like to try are currently out of stock at Blooddrop.

 

I bought the next item from Rhinestone Housewife as well:

Arcana Herne

Arcana Herne

I purchased a soap and a perfume oil in Arcana’s Herne scent. Look at that label art, isn’t it cute? Reminds me so much of James McAvoy’s Mr. Tumnus from the Chronicles of Narnia film.

Herne: Horned trickster, lord of the forest, god of the wild hunt. Cassia cinnamon, Atlas cedarwood, fir needle oil, and a whiff of Herne’s holy oak tree.

When first applied/worn, this is alllllll cassia. Some people might think of it as cinnamon, but to me, cassia has a different scent. It’s oilier and sweeter, somehow. Kinda hard to describe. For the woods, the cedar definitely stands out, as does the fir, but to a much lesser extent. Also, the spices seem to sit atop the wood notes somehow– it’s not that they dominate, it’s that they seem distinctly layered. Overall, this is a rustic, but very comforting scent. I like it a lot and reach for it frequently (I love that it’s a soap as well, and Arcana’s soap formulation is always moisturizing for me). I do think it’d be a HG for me if only the cinnamon were not cassia cinnamon– there’s just something about cassia that strikes me as a bit synthetic smelling. But it’s not as big of a quibble that I don’t use this regularly anyway. Oh, and the perfume oil lasts ALLLLLLL DAY.

 

MUFE Birthday Set

MUFE Birthday Set

Next up: this was last year’s Sephora Birthday perk, a lipstick/mascara duo from Make Up For Ever. I wasn’t horribly exciting, but since I have swatches…

MUFE Smoky Extravagant Mascara

MUFE Smoky Extravagant Mascara

I actually liked this– the MUFE Smoky Extravagant forumla was thick and dark. Just a little heavy– I’d only use one coat or risk ending up with spidery lashes. But I used the sample and thought it was pretty okay.

 Rouge Artist Natural lipstick in N9

Rouge Artist Natural lipstick in N9

MUFE  Rouge Artist Natural lipstick in N9

MUFE Rouge Artist Natural lipstick in N9

MUFE Rouge Artist Natural lipstick in N9— pretty, wearable, natural, etc. Not generally my thing– it also wore off really quickly, inside of an hour. I like that it’s a mini, which means I can toss it in my wallet, but I would definitely not spring for a full size.

 

Special Effects Hair Dye

If you’ve ever wondered what I use to get my hair color, here it is: Special Effects / SFX dye. It’s much, much, much longer lasting than Pravana or Manic Panic. On the downside, it’s not vegan, as many Manic Panic shades are. I buy mine on Ebay, but there are licensed US stockists (SFX is a British brand). The question is– will the shades be in stock? Generally, no. So I Ebay it.

 

Finally, a quick add-on to my most recent ULTA order (which hauled many NYX lippies): really cute iridescent bobby pins by ELLE.

IMG_0015

Elle Iridescent Bobby Pins

These babies look like little oil spills in bobby pin form. They’re also REALLY STRONG. I have no problem getting them to stay anchored firmly in my slippery, fine hair. In fact, they’re so strong, sometimes they’re a bit hard to remove. But on the plus, I can comfortably sleep with my hair in a bun using just four, and when I wake up, my hair still is up. Woot.

Elle Iridescent Bobby Pins

 

That’s all for now. Lip swatch-a-thon soon!

 

 

Leave A Reply

