Perfume Review! Solstice Scents, Part 1

Solstice Scents, Part 1

Part one of my review of 12 Solstice Scents perfume oils. I ordered these shortly after they released their Woodland Collection, and have been slowly skin-testing them one at a time.

I had previously ordered from them a few years ago, though I wasn’t running a review blog at the time, and nothing I ordered is still available, so the point is rather moot. I consider this my first real order, and I was very pleased with it. For one, I find all of the little extras included (the bookmark, the postcard, a Foxcroft flier) all very well coordinated and professionally done. I received a very quick and friendly response to a customer service query, and in addition to my choice of freebie sample, Angela included an extra freebie (Hidden Lodge) she chose for me based on my scent preferences. My order shipped and arrived very quickly.

Generally, when I review perfumes, I review them two at a time, one per wrist. These babies are SO STRONG that there was no way I was going to get away with that. One a day. Possibly two if there was a shower in between. They have some serious sillage, and they stick around for HOURS.

Now that all of the basics are out of the way, here are reviews of the first six scents.

FIRES IN THE NIGHT –  The Night Collection – Sandalwood, Ginger, Clove, Orange, Amber, Wood Smoke, Cinnamon, Patchouli, Edge of the Night Base.

The first thing my skin pulls out is a clovey orange, much like a pomander. It’s buoyed up by round golden amber, and a hint of ginger. As the orange wore away, it left a smoky cinnamon amber that stuck close to the skin. A very nice wintry perfume. Unisex.

OUTPOST – Winter Collection – Sugar Crystals, Spruce, Fir, Soft Woods, Bayberry, Mistletoe, Amber.

This is the one that I expected to love. I love winter woods. I double love bayberry. I love amber and can take or leave sugar. So my thought was that this would be a bright, soft, scent. And that’s what the vial smells like. However, on my skin, it was actually quite heavy and dark. My skin, which generally amps sugary notes, inexplicably turned those glorious notes into leather and damp, rotting wood. I didn’t get any bayberry, either. Hmm. Well, I’m chalking this one up to weird skin chemistry, and passing it on to my husband.

WINSLOW’S  – Winter Collection – Rows of Christmas Trees, Clove Studded Oranges, Bayberry Tapers, Handcrafted Wreaths & Mistletoe.

YESSSSS. This is Christmas in a bottle. HERE are the bright, fresh trees I expected from Outpost, and I can smell the bayberry and pomanders quite prominently. It’s a wintry, aggressively cheerful scent. It also appears to be sold out. But when this rolls around again next year, I am buying it in ALL THE THINGS, because it’s perfect.

NIGHT WATCHER – Woodland Collection – Forest Floor, Tree Tops, Bark, Mountain Air, Fir Balsam, Juniper, Moss, Oud, Dried Herbs, Cedar Tips.

Oooh, this is nice. You get lots of dry greenness here, with a spicy undertone that is more suggested than at the fore. It smells like a distant campfire in an old wood forest, slightly damp. This is a great unisex scent. In fact, I plan on smearing it all over my husband, because it’s so damn sexy. A second wearing after some ageing (to compare with other scents) yielded a juniper top note that adds tartness and body.

CORVIN’S APPLE FEST – Foxcroft’s Autumn Festival Collection – Apple Pastries, Caramel Apples, Fresh Apples, Warm Apple Cider, Vanilla, Apple Pie, Apple Cream Cheese Danish. 

Freshly applied, my first impression was warm apple pie with a dollop of vanilla ice cream on top. There’s a strong bakery-pastry base, smothered in spiced apples and vanilla bean. Very sweet! Thankfully, this didn’t go at all caramel-y or cream-cheese-y on me, because while I enjoy those things, I very much do not enjoy smelling of those things. (Though it’s funny, when smelling the wand cap, I prominently smell cream cheese danish!) If you like to smell like dessert, try this one.

SYCAMORE CHAI – Foxcroft’s Autumn Festival Collection – Vanilla Chai Tea & A Ginger-Pumpkin Roll Filled With Marshmallow Creme. 

This is a super cozy gourmand scent. It smells like Oregon Vanilla Chai, heavy on the cardamom and ginger. As I wore it, the cream/marshmallow scents came to the fore, as it sweetened considerably over time. The spices were still there when I took it off at the end of the day, but they were much less present than at the beginning.

In my next review: Smoky Mountain Mallow, Maplewood Inn, Monarch, Covered Bridge, Library, and Hidden Lodge.

One thought on “Perfume Review! Solstice Scents, Part 1

Leave A Reply

