My First Orange Thyme Order: Review & Thoughts

On December 1st, 2014, I made my first order at Orange ThymeI got a shipment notice on 12/9 that my items would be mailed on 12/10. That was fine– I had been following their FB posts and knew that the TAT could take that long. However, my order wasn’t actually dropped off at the post office until 12/16. Between 12/13 and 12/15, I had emailed the shop about my tracking number not updating, and I did not receive a response to either of my two emails. Part of the reason I was so keen to know the status of my order was that it contained several holiday gifts and stocking stuffers, and I wanted to head any issues off as soon as possible. (I also run a by-mail business, and let me tell you, the sooner a seller knows of an issue, the better for everybody involved.)

I mention all of this up front for two reasons: the lack of customer service disappointed me and may impact how willing I am to place an order in the future. I have also read on two indie forums that my experience was not all that unusual for this company, even outside of the holiday rush. Not to mention, a friend of mine had an almost identical experience to mine regarding delayed shipment.

I am going to review the products I received on their own merits, but when it comes to “do I recommend this company or not?” it really comes down to how willing you are to place an order knowing that customer service may be nonexistent if there is a problem with your order.

Okay, so onto the products–  I had heard about Orange Thyme for a while, and I was keen to sample their range, because sometimes I want a well-made product with a straightforward, non-fussy scent. As much as I love indie perfumes in all their glorious complexity, there are times when I want straight-up rosemary mint, no frills.

So of course the first thing in my cart was:

Rosemary Mint soap

Rosemary Mint soap

This is the soap currently in my shower, and it is indeed nice. It’s moisturizing, it doesn’t get slimy like some of the olive oil soaps I have tried in the past, and the scent is bright and uplifting– mostly mint, but some rosemary, too. I tried the Rosemary Mint lip balm that I put in my husband’s stocking, and the rosemary was just a touch more evident in that formula. Overall, this is a good product.

Lip balms!

Lip balms!

I am a total and utter lip balm junkie, and their flavor range is quite extensive and varied. After much deliberation, I chose these two for myself, and both are winners. Marshmallow Hot Cocoa is just that– cocoa, and not waxy chocolate, with a wonderful warm marshmallow note. Jasmine Tea barely hints at jasmine, so it’s not overwhelming. I find that the tea is less prominent than a vanilla note, though that might be a sweetener in the base playing tricks on me. The formula is really good. It’s thick, long-lasting, and does not dry me out. I’d say these are the second-best balms I’ve tried, after my absolute favorites from Firebird Bath & Body. I also like that the packaging holds up nicely– I’ve had far too many balms that scuff up quickly, or had labels that peeled off inside a week. Not so with these.

Lavender Cuticle & Nail Balm

Lavender Cuticle & Nail Balm

Lavender Cuticle and Nail Balm

Lavender Cuticle and Nail Balm

The Lavender Cuticle and Nail Balm was the order’s big bust for me. I was really looking forward to it, because it’s such a cute design! Unfortunately, it was way too waxy and stiff. It didn’t absorb into my skin, and it took way too much effort to get it on there in the first place. Even when I tried warming it first, it just wouldn’t budge. The lavender scent was nice, but ultimately, it’s just a sub-par product. I ended up melting it down and adding a tablespoon of coconut oil, which helped immensely.

Charcoal and Clay Mud Mask

Charcoal and Clay Mud Mask

Finally, the Charcoal and Clay Mud Mask. This is an okay product. The sample came securely packaged in a glass jar with enough product for about six or seven uses. It’s a thick and creamy consistency.

Charcoal and Clay Mud Mask

Charcoal and Clay Mud Mask

I didn’t see much of a difference in my skin the way I usually do after, say, a Lush mask. My skin was a bit softer, but overall, it’s not something I’d repurchase.

But longtime readers of my blog will know what’s coming next. The Enchanted Mirror Face Mask Tradition:

ZOMBIE FAAAAAAAAACE! (Wow, it’s been awhile since I’ve done one of these.)

God, I hope I never run for public office.

God, I hope I never run for public office.

YOU’RE WELCOME, INTERNET.

So, overall- I would repurchase the lip balms and the soaps. Or I would if I really, really wanted something and was not fussy about when it arrived. Even better, if I could get it through a stockist that handles shipping and customer service. But I’m not keen to make a second order any time soon, either.

Okay. Off to start working on my roots. I have been laaaaaazy about it. I have had the dyes to do it for over a week now, but between work and coordinating plumbers to come out and fix my tub, it’s been hard to find a dedicated chunk of time to do it. Maybe I’ll take pics step by step to show the pinkening, who knows?

 

 

 

Leave A Reply

