Makeup Geek Basics – Gel Liners & Matte Shadows

Makeup Geek Gel Liner

Back when I decided to reorganize my shadows into empty palettes, I realized one gaping hole in my makeup collection: even though I had the first Urban Decay Naked palette, I was absolutely woefully low on good neutral blending mattes. Most of my neutrals were shimmery. And the ones that I had in matte leaned neutral/cool, whereas I look best in neutral/warm. So I went to Makeup Geek to fix that problem.

If you have never heard of Makeup Geek, they are a lovely little line that sells pretty eyeshadows, gel liners, blushes, and lipstick. They’re some of the best products out there you can buy for relatively little money (these shadows were $6 each).

After agonizing over the swatches, I chose Vanilla Bean, a barely there shade for blending up into the browbone, Peach Smoothie, a pale nude peach that looks particularly nice with my yellow undertones, Creme Brulée, a warm leaning neutral mid-tone brown, and Cocoa Bear, a warm cocoa brown. Somehow, two colors snuck into my cart as well: Bitten, a burgundy, and Twilight, a satin grey-purple.

Vanilla Bean, Peach Smoothie, Creme Brulee, Cocoa Bear, Bitten, Twilight

Vanilla Bean, Peach Smoothie, Creme Brulee, Cocoa Bear, Bitten, Twilight

Vanilla Bean, Peach Smoothie, Twilight

Vanilla Bean, Peach Smoothie, Twilight

Creme Brulee, Cocoa Bear, Bitten

Creme Brulee, Cocoa Bear, Bitten

These are lovely shades, though they be not flashy. They’re soft, buttery, and perfect for blending. They make a rockin’ hot classic pinup eye. I absolutely love Peach Smoothie & Cocoa Bear for soft neutral looks.

Vanilla Bean, Peach

Vanilla Bean, Peach

Creme Brulee, Cocoa Bear

Creme Brulee, Cocoa Bear

Vanilla Bean, Peach Smoothie, Creme Brulee, Cocoa Bear

Vanilla Bean, Peach Smoothie, Creme Brulee, Cocoa Bear

Here’s a look I did with several of them. The only shadow that is not MUG is the lid shade of metallic gold.

Cocoa Bear & Peach Smoothie in Crease, Vanilla Bean on browbone,  Twinkle & Immortal subtle ombre liner

Cocoa Bear & Peach Smoothie in Crease, Vanilla Bean on browbone,
Twinkle & Immortal subtle ombre liner

Makeup Geek Eye Shadows

The liner is also MUG. I decided to try gel liners to perfect my wing tips, and truly, the right brush makes all the difference. So I picked up their bent liner brush and two liners: Immortal, a black, and Twinkle, a shimmery gunmetal grey.

Makeup Geek Gel Liner

Bent Liner Brush

Bent Liner Brush

Twinkle

Immortal

Twinkle

Twinkle

These are quite nice, especially for $9 each. Creamy, pigmented, and easy to apply. They take about 4 minutes to truly set, but once they’re on, they’re not going ANYWHERE. They are quite smudge proof. I like them a lot and will be picking up Mobster and Poison once the latter is back in stock.

Immortal

Immortal

Twinkle

Twinkle

If you’re a MUG fan, what products do you consider must-haves?

 

Leave A Reply

