Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lip Color Swatches

And now, a post using swatches I took before the holidays hit me like a freight train. There was much hubbub in the beauty blog world about the new line of matte lipsticks put out by Maybelline. None of the colors were particularly groundbreaking, but one of them was that pinky-brown shade that’s so on-trend right now. I was out and about in Target and snapped up a few, even though mattes aren’t really my thing. I much prefer cremes, but hey. I am trying to branch out, and there are times when a matte is just the thing.

I ended up picking up Touch of Spice, the pinky-brown shade, and Divine Wine, a deep red berry.

Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lip Color

 

Touch of Spice

Touch of Spice

Divine Wine

Divine Wine

Texturally, these are nice. They’re not as creamy as cremes, but they’re not dry either. They have the standard Color Sensational scent, which is kind of perfumey, and really not my thing. But for a shade I like, I tend to deal with it (the only products I have ever returned because of scent were L’Oreal lippies, which smell like rancid grandmas).

They swatched quite nicely.

Touch of Spice, Divine Wine

Touch of Spice, Divine Wine

Touch of Spice

Touch of Spice

Touch of Spice

Touch of Spice

Divine Wine

Divine Wine

Divine Wine

Divine Wine

From a wear standpoint, Touch of Spice fades nicely. Divine Wine gets pretty patchy. Case in point:

Divine Wine - 4 hr mark, after 2 cups of coffee.

Divine Wine – 4 hr mark, after 2 cups of coffee.

I mean, if anus lips are your thing…

So, there’s going to be some upkeep with the deeper shades, I imagine. Because ew.

Overall, it’s nice to see drugstore brands embracing mattes, even if I don’t think I’ll ever be swayed to wear them on the daily. I have worn Touch of Spice a few times. It’s pretty good for the price. But your mileage may vary.

2 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lip Color Swatches

  1. I am on the bandwagon with touch of spice. I love darker-than-MLBB shades. I have super fair skin but dark hair and dark lips, for some reason, so these shades are up my alley.

    Lol@ you saying anus lips.

Leave A Reply

