Sephora Collection – Give Me More Lip Set. Pt. 4: The Berries

And now, the final color family from the Give Me More Lip set. Also my favorite. I absolutely love berries. They flatter pretty much everyone. And of all of the color families, the berry shades in this set offer the widest variety of finishes.

1. Buxom - Menace. 2. Fresh - Berry. 3. Tarte - Moody. 4. OCC - Black Dahlia.

1. Buxom – Menace. 2. Fresh – Berry. 3. Tarte – Moody. 4. OCC – Black Dahlia.

Onto the swatches!

Fresh - Sugar Berry Tinted Lip Treatment

Fresh – Sugar Berry Tinted Lip Treatment

Fresh - Sugar Berry Tinted Lip Treatment

Fresh – Sugar Berry Tinted Lip Treatment

Fresh – Sugar Berry Tinted Lip Treatment: I have long heard rave reviews for Fresh’s lip balms, but I was very reluctant to spend $22 on a tinted lip balm. So I was pretty stoked to be able to try this product. I have only just swatched this, so I’m going to keep it in my purse for a bit and see if it’s worth the price tag. That said, it smells lovely (like lemon sugar), it imparts a pretty sheer tint, it minimizes the look of dryness, and I think the metal casing is pretty great. I like it.

Tarte LipSurgence Lip Tint - Moody

Tarte LipSurgence Lip Tint – Moody

Tarte LipSurgence Lip Tint - Moody

Tarte LipSurgence Lip Tint – Moody

Tarte LipSurgence Lip Tint – Moody: Another one that was on my excitement list. Particularly this shade, which is sort of a rusty plum. It’s a versatile color– it’s not too bold for daytime wear, and it won’t compete too much with darker eye makeup looks at night. Like all of Tarte’s chubby pencils, it is slightly minty-smelling.

Size-wise, it is comparable to Revlon’s Colorburst Lip balms, which retail for about 1/3 the cost. Is it worth it? Well, I don’t know. Tarte’s colors are, on the whole, a little more unique and nuanced than the drugstore ones. This wore on me for about an hour longer than my closest comparable Revlon shade (Romantic, which is redder). The stain left behind was comparable to the deeper Colorburst shades. So I’d say this: if there’s a shade that’s very YOU, splurge. If there’s something similar in the Revlon line, save. I don’t think Moody has a close cousin in the Revlon line, so I’m glad I have it– it’s lovely.

Buxom Full Bodied Lipstick - Menace

Buxom Full Bodied Lipstick – Menace

Buxom Full Bodied Lipstick - Menace

Buxom Full Bodied Lipstick – Menace

Buxom Full Bodied Lipstick – Menace: This turned out a shade pinker on me than I expected it to be, based on other bloggers’ swatches. From what I gather, it looks a bit purpler on other people. The other thing I was surprised about is that it looks a little bit less opaque on me than in other swatches– I needed two coats to even it out. BUT once on, it looked beautiful– it’s a cream that leans glossy, in a universally-flattering berry-plum.

OCC Lip Tar Matte Test Tube - Black Dahlia

OCC Lip Tar Matte Test Tube – Black Dahlia

OCC Lip Tar Matte Test Tube - Black Dahlia

OCC Lip Tar Matte Test Tube – Black Dahlia

OCC Lip Tar Matte Test Tube – Black Dahlia: Finally, the set’s boss bitch shade, muahahaha. (AKA, the shade I rarely wear out of the house, but feel like a fabulous evil queen when I wear it to sip wine and binge Netflix.) Surprisingly enough, this is my first experience with OCC, considering I’ve tried many OCC-like products. Finish-wise, it doesn’t go on truly matte, but I’d say it dries to a matte finish within the first hour. I like this quite a bit. Also of note, it comes with a little lip brush for application. Which is awesome, but might dissuade you from picking this shade if you have to do touch-ups on the go.

Three hours: I’ve been wearing it for about three hours now, and have had lunch plus two cups of coffee, and it’s still looking pretty awesome. No feathering into my liplines. It does, however, transfer a bit.

Four hours: starting to see feathering along my top lip.

Five hours: DEFINITELY needs a touch-up. It’s blotchy and uneven. I removed it at this point.

 

And that’s that!  For a roundup, here’s my overview thoughts on this set:

Favorite Products:

  • Fresh – Sugar Berry Tinted Lip Treatment
  • Tarte LipSurgence Lip Tint – Moody
  • OCC Lip Tar Matte Test Tube – Black Dahlia
  • Sephora Rouge Infusion – Red Essence

Least Favorite Products: 

  • Benefit – PosieBalm
  • Too Faced La Creme Lipstick – Naked Dolly (No really, I am STILL grossed out by it.)

 

Leave A Reply

