Sephora Collection – Give Me More Lip Set. Pt. 2: The Reds

Part two of this 4-part series features the swatches of the four red shades in the Sephora Collection Give Me More Lip set.

1. Laura Mercier - Red Armour. 2. KVD - Outlaw. 3. Sephora - Red Essence. 4. Hourglass - Icon.

1. Laura Mercier – Red Armour. 2. KVD – Outlaw. 3. Sephora – Red Essence. 4. Hourglass – Icon.

I swatched these on the day I did my Krampus makeup, as I figured the reds would look nice against the pop of red on my lids. As a result, my makeup is fairly… dramatic. I look nothing like myself!

Onto the swatches!

Laura Mercier Creme Smooth Lip Colour - Red Armour

Laura Mercier Creme Smooth Lip Colour – Red Armour

Laura Mercier Creme Smooth Lip Colour - Red Armour

Laura Mercier Creme Smooth Lip Colour – Red Armour

Laura Mercier Creme Smooth Lip Colour – Red Armour: Of the red shades, this one was the least remarkable. It’s a perfectly nice bright red. It has a creme finish. It comes in standard tube form. I’d call it a cherry popsicle red. It applied nicely and felt comfortable on my lips.

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick - Outlaw

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick – Outlaw

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick - Outlaw

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick – Outlaw

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick – Outlaw: Another cherry red, this one is a liquid that dries matte. It surprised me quite a lot how much I liked this– for one, it’s opaque in one swipe, and then this stuff sticks around FOREVER. Mattes still aren’t my favorite thing, but I was seriously impressed with its tenacity– I wore it for four hours before I had had enough of ALL OF THE MAKEUP ON MY FACE AT ONCE!!1! (seriously, you should have seen the delivery guy when I signed for packages), but by then it had lasted through two cups of coffee and lunch with only the faintest of fading in the middle. And it was surprisingly comfortable for a matte. If you like pin-up lips and matte formulas, this might be one to check out.

Sephora Rouge Infusion - Red Essence

Sephora Rouge Infusion – Red Essence

Sephora Rouge Infusion - Red Essence

Sephora Rouge Infusion – Red Essence

Sephora Rouge Infusion – Red Essence: This was the most unique of the reds in the kit. It reminded me of red velvet cake batter. This is sort of a hybrid product– it’s a stain, but for the first hour or two of wear, it’s got a sort of jelly-glossy finish that I really, really liked. The skin swatch I did was on my arm for less than 10 minutes, but it lasted through two attempts with a waterproof makeup remover and persisted overnight until I took a shower the next morning. On the downside, it smells like a drugstore product (you know what I mean?) and the packaging is straight-up fugly. But I’m willing to overlook that for a product I really like, so I’m going to wear this a few more times.

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick - Icon

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick – Icon

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick - Icon

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick – Icon

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick – Icon: Of the reds in the kit, this was my favorite, color-wise. Another matte-drying liquid lipstick, this has a pretty pinky-red tone, and it suited my coloring very nicely. I have long heard raves about Icon, and so this was very high up on the products I was excited for in this set. That said: the applicator in the mini version was DISASTROUS. It’s a sponge applicator, and it is so soft and bendy that it made getting a nice even line near impossible. If you look at the close up, I am WELL outside of my lipline, but it took about three passes to get it even approaching even. I would only purchase this in full size if the applicator weren’t so terrible, so I guess that means I need to go to Sephora to look at it.

1. Laura Mercier - Red Armour. 2. KVD - Outlaw. 3. Sephora - Red Essence. 4. Hourglass - Icon.

1. Laura Mercier – Red Armour. 2. KVD – Outlaw. 3. Sephora – Red Essence. 4. Hourglass – Icon.

1. Laura Mercier - Red Armour. 2. KVD - Outlaw. 3. Sephora - Red Essence. 4. Hourglass - Icon.

1. Laura Mercier – Red Armour. 2. KVD – Outlaw. 3. Sephora – Red Essence. 4. Hourglass – Icon.

1. Laura Mercier - Red Armour. 2. KVD - Outlaw. 3. Sephora - Red Essence. 4. Hourglass - Icon.

1. Laura Mercier – Red Armour. 2. KVD – Outlaw. 3. Sephora – Red Essence. 4. Hourglass – Icon.

Next up: the pinks!

Leave A Reply

