Sephora Favorites – Give Me More Lip Set. Pt 1: The Nudes

Sephora Collection Give Me More Lip Set

I had been admiring Sephora’s set of 17 mini lip products for some time now. It’s honestly sort of a genius collection– several brands, several finishes, all sorted into four color families– nudes, pinks, berries, and reds. It’s a great idea if you want to try new things, and it’s also perfect for gifting. All for $59, which is a GREAT price for the set. I was tempted. Oh so tempted.

Then Sephora online sold out, and I thought, “thank god, I’m safe from temptation.”

…Then I had to go X-mas shopping at the mall, and the Sephora store had them front and center. “YOU THOUGHT YOU WERE SAFE,” the display mocked me. “GOTCHA, WENCH.” And because I am weak of will, I caved.

I’m going to separate out my swatches & reviews into four separate posts, because frankly the last time I did more than five lip swatches in a sitting, my lips flaked and peeled and burned with unbridled hatred.

1. MUFE: 3C. 2. Stila: Nude Vinyl. 3. Laura Mercier: Blush. 4. BMMM: Speak Your Mind. 5. Too Faced: Naked Dolly

1. MUFE: 3C. 2. Stila: Nude Vinyl. 3. Laura Mercier: Blush. 4. BMMM: Speak Your Mind. 5. Too Faced: Naked Dolly

Here are the nudes, which are generally my least favorite color family. I decided to do them the day that I did my Mimi-blue snowflake eye look, because if there’s anything that begs for a subdued lip color, it’s freakin’ blue eyeshadow. Considering both blue AND nudes are not really in my wheelhouse, you will forgive the expression of “oh god, when can I wash my face?” I am wearing in the following shots.

Without further ado…

Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie Lipstick - Speak Your Mind

Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie Lipstick – Speak Your Mind

Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie Lipstick - Speak Your Mind

Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie Lipstick – Speak Your Mind

Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie Lipstick – Speak Your Mind: This one came in a standard lipstick tube and all in all was more of a spring pink than a true nude. It had a cream finish, and it felt really nice on my lips. I liked it more than I expected to!

Laura Mercier Lip Glacé - Blush

Laura Mercier Lip Glacé – Blush

Laura Mercier Lip Glacé - Blush

Laura Mercier Lip Glacé – Blush

Laura Mercier Lip Glacé – Blush: This one was a sheer nude gloss. It pulled a touch peachy on me, and I liked its smoothness. If sheer glosses are your thing, this is a nice one. That said, a gloss is a gloss is a freakin’ gloss, and I would not shell out twenty-five freakin’ dollars for gloss unless it’s made of unicorn dust or something.

Too Faced La Creme Lipstick - Naked Dolly

Too Faced La Creme Lipstick – Naked Dolly

Too Faced La Creme Lipstick - Naked Dolly

Too Faced La Creme Lipstick – Naked Dolly

Too Faced La Creme Lipstick – Naked Dolly: Oh. My. Gawd. This was just straight-up gross. A streaky mess that settled into my lip-lines and made my slightly-dry lips look like a chapped-yet-oily wasteland of corpsified disgustingness. Nasty. I had already decided that any colors from this set that didn’t suit me would be passed on to friends, but let’s be real, I’m chucking this one. I like my friends too much to subject them to bad lipstick.

Makeup Up For Ever Aqua Lip Pencil - 3C

Makeup Up For Ever Aqua Lip Pencil – 3C

Makeup Up For Ever Aqua Lip Pencil - 3C

Makeup Up For Ever Aqua Lip Pencil – 3C

Makeup Up For Ever Aqua Lip Pencil – 3C: The only pencil in the set, I liked this a lot! Obviously, pencils aren’t meant to be worn on their own, so it will be no surprise when I say that this was a dry product. But that said: this was a super tenacious pencil! It certainly improved the wear time of the lipsticks I wore it with this week, and it’s that pretty mauvey-brown that’s so in right now. You can also use it to tone down too-bright lipsticks. Very versatile.

Stila Stay All Day Vinyl Lip Gloss - Nude Vinyl

Stila Stay All Day Vinyl Lip Gloss – Nude Vinyl

Stila Stay All Day Vinyl Lip Gloss - Nude Vinyl

Stila Stay All Day Vinyl Lip Gloss – Nude Vinyl

Stila Stay All Day Vinyl Lip Gloss – Nude Vinyl: Another shade that pulled more pinky-peach on me than true nude. Honestly, I expected to not like this one when I did my skin swatch, because it seemed SO sticky. I generally don’t like sticky stuff on my lips, as it is guaranteed that every hair on my head (and every single hair on my cats’ asses) will get stuck to it within minutes. But honestly, after a few minutes, it sort of gelled and felt a lot more comfortable to me. It IS quite thick, but ultimately felt not dissimilar to the YSL Glossy Stains. So yeah, definitely surprising that I liked this one so much.

1. MUFE: 3C. 2. Stila: Nude Vinyl. 3. Laura Mercier: Blush. 4. BMMM: Speak Your Mind. 5. Too Faced: Naked Dolly

1. MUFE: 3C. 2. Stila: Nude Vinyl. 3. Laura Mercier: Blush. 4. BMMM: Speak Your Mind. 5. Too Faced: Naked Dolly

1. Laura Mercier: Blush. 2. BMMM: Speak Your Mind. 3. Too Faced: Naked Dolly

1. Laura Mercier: Blush. 2. BMMM: Speak Your Mind. 3. Too Faced: Naked Dolly

1. MUFE: 3C. 2. Stila: Nude Vinyl. 3. Laura Mercier: Blush. 4. BMMM: Speak Your Mind.

1. MUFE: 3C. 2. Stila: Nude Vinyl. 3. Laura Mercier: Blush. 4. BMMM: Speak Your Mind.

Next time: the reds!

One thought on “Sephora Favorites – Give Me More Lip Set. Pt 1: The Nudes

Leave A Reply

