Nov & Dec 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag Reviews!

HUZZAH! My holiday elfing is complete. All of my orders for 2014 are complete and shipped. All of my Christmas gifts are purchased. I have much of this week to do with as I please, and I please to eat way too much bad-for-me food, cuddle my husband and my cats, and finally get up to speed on my makeup blog! To that end, here’s a doubleheader review post of my November & December 2014 Ipsy Glam Bags!

November 2014:

November 2014 Ipsy Bag

November’s theme was glitter. And look at that bag! I love the glittery bag. I am a sucker for shiny things. In it, I received a Marc Anthony Argan Oil hairspray mini, a Starlooks eyeliner pencil in a glittery dark purple, IT Cosmetics anti-aging concealer, JCat Wonder Lip Paint, and SeaRX Birchsap moisturizing lotion. 

November 2014 Ipsy Bag

As for the Marc Anthony Argan Oil hairspray: it’s hairspray. It smells vaguely fruity. I honestly don’t understand why you’d want argan oil in your hairspray, despite it being the current IT-ingredient. It’s nice. It works. But it’s just hairspray. I really only use it to tame flyaways.

The SeaRX Birchsap Moisturizing Lotion was very nice. Of the products I received in this bag, this is one I’m considering in full size. My skin tends towards oily, but in winter, my nose and cheeks get REALLY dry. This was a good, lightweight, non-greasy lotion that does the trick without making me super shiny. That said, a full-size is $32, so I want to compare it against some drugstore products to make sure I’m not spending more for fancy-sounding ingredients.

The IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Undereye concealer was awesome! Generally speaking, I don’t wear concealer. Considering my everyday foundation is a mix of BB cream and Kat Von D’s foundation, which is ultra-full coverage, if I need concealer, I just use an extra dot of the KVD. That said, this was really nicely pigmented, creamy, blendable, and did not settle into my undereye lines. It’s great to toss in my bag for touch-ups.

The JCat Wonder Lip Paint was meh. I really liked the color I received, Mad Splatter. It was a red-violet with wonderful blue-purple shimmer. Very pretty. But it was so runny out of the tube I didn’t even try it on my lips. It just looked like it was gonna be a feathery nightmare. Maybe some other time after I purchase an anti-feathering pencil, but basically my first reaction was just “not worth the effort,” so I trusted my gut.

Mad Splatter

Mad Splatter

And finally, the pencil.

November 2014 Ipsy Bag

November 2014 Ipsy Bag

This product, by a Gem Pencil in Ultra Orchid by Starlooks, had good and bad qualities. For the good, it had nice pigmentation. The sparkle was nice, but not too much. It was creamy and glided on nicely. For the bad, it smelled like pencil shavings. Like, very strongly. It smelled like kindergarten, forreals. It won’t stop me from using up this product, but it probably will keep me from buying anything else in the product line. Also, it is so soft it loses its point VERY quickly, which means you have to re-sharpen it before every use.

December 2014:

December 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag

December’s bag was a satiny black bag with a pink plastic zipper pull. As the products went, I got some hits some “meh”s. I received a Nyx Butter Lip Balm, a double-ended brush from Crown Brush, a Cailyn eyeshadow, a sample of blow dry balm from Bumble & Bumble, and a mini of Tarte’s Lights, Camera, Lashes mascara.

As for the Bumble & Bumble Straight Blow Dry— I only blow my hair dry about once every two weeks, if that. I did use this just to test it out, and saw that it helped calm the frizzies somewhat. Nice, but not something I tend to use all that often.

December 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag

This is the Cailyn Eye Polish. The shade is called “Orchid.” I’d love to know in what universe the word “orchid” conjures up visions of tame champagne. This product was the epitome of ‘meh.’ The color is pretty, I mean. But it’s so overdone to the point of being bland. I have about a dozen shades in this color family already. Add to that, the color is a loose shadow formula meant to be applied with the sponge-wand that comes with– that makes it very hard to use this product for anything other than an all-over wash of brightening color. I’m gonna give this one away.

December 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag

Lid Side (slightly damp from being washed)

December 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag

Crease Side

This is Crown Brush’s Infinity Double-Ended Brush. One side is a wide lid brush. The other is a thin, tapered crease brush. I really loved this! While the shadow brush is indeed quite large and not really helpful for multi-color eye looks, it is fluffy enough to also be useful for blending. The crease end is very nice a good size for applying crease colors.

For reference, here is the lid size in comparison to a standard MAC 239:

December 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag

Next up, the Nyx Lip Butter in Parfait, a slightly cool-toned pink:

December 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag

December 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag

December 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag

I say cool toned because even though it looks fairly neutral in the swatches, it applied pretty coolly when I wore it on my lips. In fact, it even leaned a bit bubblegummy on me:

NYX Lip Butter in Parfait

NYX Lip Butter in Parfait

As for the formula, it was nice. Thicker than the Revlon lip butters, but also more moisturizing. It gave me a sort of “I just ate a popsicle” wash of color instead of a fully opaque one. You could easily reapply this color without the use of a mirror.

December 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag

And finally, Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara by Tarte. I like this a lot! I find it more lengthening than volumizing, but it is a nicely dark black. Best of all, it doesn’t leave black smudges beneath my eyebrows the way a lot of mascaras do. I wish it were more volumizing than it is, but for the non-transferrence alone, I am enjoying it very much.

So that was my last two Ipsy bags. Some hits, some mehs. Nothing terrible. Did you get anything fun in your bags?

4 thoughts on “Nov & Dec 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag Reviews!

Leave A Reply

