October 2014 Ipsy Bag Review!

October 2014 Ipsy Bag

Man, Ipsy. You knocked it out of the park this month. There is not a single thing in this bag I was not excited to try. Here’s what I received:

Épicé Purifying Exfoliant – This was probably the least exciting thing in my bag, but that doesn’t mean I won’t use it. It’s a pretty decent exfoliator. It doesn’t smell like anything in particular. It didn’t bother my sensitive skin. The exfoliation is mild-to-medium. My face feels clean after I use it, but not dry. I don’t intend to switch to it from my regular exfoliator (Clean Slate by Paintbox Soapworks), but it is by no means a bad product! If you want an exfoliator without a heavy scent, this may be for you.

Figs & Rouge Hand Cream in Mango Mandarin – Would you LOOK at that packaging! It is so bright and sunny and cute! I also liked that it closed with a twist-on cap. This deluxe sample is the perfect size for tossing in my purse, and I don’t have to worry about it leaking everywhere. The scent was citrusy and juicy, but not too strong. As for the texture– that I wasn’t super thrilled about. I tend to go for very creamy products (body butters), and this had a weird waxy feel while I was rubbing it in. The wax feel goes away once it’s absorbed, so maybe I’ll finish up my sample and see how I feel then.

Skone Tattooed Waterproof Eyeliner in Black – Considering a cat eye has become my go-to look, I was pleased to try this out. I compare all liquid liners to Stila’s, which, in my opinion, are the best on the market. And this one wasn’t too bad! It has a tapered felt-tipped marker applicator that was a bit stiff (I prefer tapered brushes with a little give), but the actual formula was very nice. It was not the blackest black out there, but it was serviceable. It didn’t fade, smudge, or smear all day. It’s good to have a backup liner, and this is a pretty serviceable one.

Cirque Glitter Nail Polish in XX – I have long wanted to try a polish by Cirque, so I was thrilled to find this in my bag. I don’t generally go for chunky glitters, but the holographic particles in this are really cool. It’s got various circles, hexes, diamonds, and squares, all in a clear base. Formula-wise, it was decent. Not too gloopy, and I didn’t have to get too precious with placing the glitter. It smoothed out nicely under one coat of Seche Vite.

Cirque XX

Here it is, with two thin layers over Essie’s Style Cartel, a deep blue:

Cirque XX over Essie Style Cartel

Cirque XX over Essie Style Cartel

 

Noyah Natural Lipstick in Deeply in Mauve -This was the slam dunk of my bag. I am indeed deeply in love with this lipstick. It is the perfect Autumn mauve for my skin tone, which has both pink and yellow undertones. It’s a deep plummy pink, and good for day or night. The texture is superb– it’s not too creamy that it slides off, nor is it too drying and grippy. I get about 4 hours’ worth of wear, but it fades evenly into my natural lipcolor so that I don’t look like I’m wearing just lipliner as it does. I love this shade and will be purchasing it in full size.

Noyah Deeply in Mauve Lipstick

Noyah Deeply in Mauve Lipstick

What did you get in your Ipsy bag? And if you’re curious about signing up for your own, here is my referral link!

 

 

2 thoughts on “October 2014 Ipsy Bag Review!

Leave A Reply

