Life’s Entropy Post #3: Mixes Using Placebo

Part 3 of my series on my introduction to the Life’s Entropy Lip Theory Line! While the last post featured my experiments using JUST the Lip Theories together, this one introduces another element: the Placebo gloss base.

Life's Entropy Placebo

The idea is that you can use the Lip Theories and/or lip-safe eyeshadows mixed into this base to create your own glosses. I knew going in that I am not really a gloss person, really. BUT if given the choice between carrying around a lip brush to reapply and trying to make a REALLY OPAQUE GLOSS that I can carry around for easy touch-ups, I’m going to choose the gloss.  With that in mind, I picked up a tube of Placebo and three empty gloss tube sets:

Life's Entropy Atom Tubes!

Most of the lip-safe eyeshadows I had were from Femme Fatale (and handily marked as such on the sample baggies!), so with the exception of using Aromaleigh’s Folie à Deux, most of the shadows I mixed in were from Femme Fatale. You can go back and check my Femme Fatale tag if you’re interested in what the eyeshadows look like on their own.

For these swatches, I just mixed little bits on aluminum foil sheet to sample what they’d look like. I used a tiny bit of shadow per sample. If you want a full-size, opaque gloss, you’ll need about 1/8- 1/4 tsp of shadow (depending on the shadow), which is why my tester of Flare and my large tube of Flare look different– I didn’t have enough Flare for full opacity in a big tube. As that was one that looked AMAZING when mixed to full opacity, I plan on making a fully opaque Flare in the future. Which means I’ll just have to place another Femme Fatale order soon. WOE IS ME! /sarcasm

A word about the gloss base: it was really nice if you like glosses that aren’t super sticky. Honestly, once I’d mixed in the pigments and Lip Theories, the texture sort of resembled a really creamy, slippery lipstick. In fact, most of the opaque shades felt very much like NYX’s Round Case Lipstick. Obviously, the less color mixed in, the more like a gloss it felt. I also noticed a very subtle vanilla scent.

BUT ANYWHO. On to the experiments!

Mixture 1: Alpine Skies. The first thing I set out to do was make a gloss that 15-year-old Christina would have freakin’ loved. I mixed Femme Fatale’s Alpine Skies, which is basically a bright teal interference shade, in with some Placebo. The result: frosty, early 2000’s heaven. Unfortunately, adult Christina cannot pull off such frost with ease. I will note that the frost looked distinctly teal in person, but my camera hates frost, so.

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Alpine Skies.

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Alpine Skies.

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Alpine Skies.

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Alpine Skies.

Mixture 2: Dispersion. This one used Femme Fatale’s Dispersion,  a deep plummy shade with blue shimmer. Which is basically what it was in lip form. Pretty!

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Dispersion.

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Dispersion.

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Alpine Skies  Femme Fatale Dispersion.

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Alpine Skies Femme Fatale Dispersion.

Mixture 3: Alpine Dispersion. I mixed together my two previous glosses, because why the hell not?

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Alpine Skies  Femme Fatale Dispersion.

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Alpine Skies Femme Fatale Dispersion.

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Alpine Skies  Femme Fatale Dispersion.

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Alpine Skies + Femme Fatale Dispersion.

Life's Entropy Placebo + 1. Femme Fatale Alpine Skies, 2. Femme Fatale Dispersion, 3. Femme Fatale Alpine Skies + Dispersion

Life’s Entropy Placebo + 1. Femme Fatale Alpine Skies, 2. Femme Fatale Dispersion, 3. Femme Fatale Alpine Skies + Dispersion

Mixture #4: Flowers Before Flames. This used another Femme Fatale Shade, which is the orangey shade you see on my lids. In gloss form, it never really got fully opaque, so it stayed kinda a translucent tangerine shade. You can’t see the shade’s really pretty blue shimmer at all.

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Flowers Before Flames

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Flowers Before Flames

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Flowers Before Flames

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Flowers Before Flames

Mixture #5: Flare. AHHHHH, PERFECTION. It’s this gorgeous pinky red with gold pearl, using the Femme Fatale shade of the same name. I need to buy a full sized Flare ASAP so I can make my full-sized gloss concoction as opaque as this is.

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Flare

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Flare

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Flare

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Flare

Mixture #6: Sunfire. I used Femme Fatale’s pinky-coral shade to make this very daytime-wearable gloss.

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Sunfire

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Sunfire

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Sunfire

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Sunfire

Placebo Mixtures: 1. Femme Fatale Flowers Before Flames, 2. Femme Fatale Flare, 3. Femme Fatale Sunfire.

Placebo Mixtures: 1. Femme Fatale Flowers Before Flames, 2. Femme Fatale Flare, 3. Femme Fatale Sunfire.

Mixture #7: Folie à Deux. I used an Aromaleigh shade for this and it turned out less hot pink / purple than it does as an eyeshadow. Mixed into the Placebo, it’s a very slightly plummy red that retained its lovely blue sparkle. Very, very pretty!

Life's Entropy Placebo + Aromaleigh Folie à Deux.

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Aromaleigh Folie à Deux.

Life's Entropy Placebo + Aromaleigh Folie à Deux.

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Aromaleigh Folie à Deux.

Mixture #8: Candied Apple. This one used a Femme Fatale shade, and on my lips, it was basically just silvery shimmer in a slightly mauve base. It really retained none of the complexity of the eyeshadow. Oh well.

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Candied Apple

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Candied Apple

Mixture #9: Candy Apple Vaccine. Soooo I mixed a little bit of the Vaccine Lip Theory in it. Much prettier!

Life's Entropy Placebo + Life's Entropy Vaccine + Femme Fatale Candied Apple

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Life’s Entropy Vaccine + Femme Fatale Candied Apple

Life's Entropy Placebo + Life's Entropy Vaccine + Femme Fatale Candied Apple

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Life’s Entropy Vaccine + Femme Fatale Candied Apple

Placebo Mixtures: 1. Aromaleigh Folie A Deux, 2. Femme Fatale Candied Apple, 3. Femme Fatale Candied Apple + Life's Entropy Vaccine

Placebo Mixtures: 1. Aromaleigh Folie A Deux, 2. Femme Fatale Candied Apple, 3. Femme Fatale Candied Apple + Life’s Entropy Vaccine

Mixture #10: Flaming Peony. This one used a mix of Lip Theories for opacity. I used Vaccine, Fusion, and Synapse to make this pretty spring pink.

Life's Entropy Placebo + Lip Theories in Vaccine, Fusion, Synapse.

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Lip Theories in Vaccine, Fusion, Synapse.

Life's Entropy Placebo + Lip Theories in Vaccine, Fusion, Synapse.

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Lip Theories in Vaccine, Fusion, Synapse.

Mixture #11: Underlord. Another Femme Fatale color, this one is a burgundy-plum with green shimmer. Most of the green shimmer gets lost, but not as much as you’d think based on the pic. Some of the green was still visible in indirect light.

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Underlord

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Underlord

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Underlord

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Underlord

Mixture #12: Underlord Fusion. I mixed a little bit of Fusion Lip Theory in with #11 and got this gorgeous magenta!

Life's Entropy Placebo + Life's Entropy Fusion + Femme Fatale Underlord

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Life’s Entropy Fusion + Femme Fatale Underlord

Life's Entropy Placebo + Life's Entropy Fusion + Femme Fatale Underlord

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Life’s Entropy Fusion + Femme Fatale Underlord

Placebo Mixtures: 1. Life's Entropy Vaccine + Fusion + Synapse, 2. Femme Fatale Underlord, 3. Femme Fatale Underlord + Life's Entropy Fusion

Placebo Mixtures: 1. Life’s Entropy Vaccine + Fusion + Synapse, 2. Femme Fatale Underlord, 3. Femme Fatale Underlord + Life’s Entropy Fusion

THE BIG TUBES! Here’s what I ended up mixing:

Life's Entropy DIY Lip Theories

Life's Entropy DIY Lip Theories

Tube #1: Sheer Flare. I scraped all of the Flare I had left into this tube, and alas, it was not enough to make it as opaque as my tester. This will be remedied. I mean, it’s still pretty. But I like the opaque version better, personally.

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Flare

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Flare

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Flare

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Flare

Tube #2: Pumped-up Petals. I generally don’t have a lot of pink in my arsenal, much preferring berries and plums for everyday wear. So one of the things I wanted to do was to mix a bright pink that suited the mix of yellow and pink in my skin, and this came out just about perfect!

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Flowers Before Flames + Life's Entropy Fusion + Life's Entropy Synapse + Life's Entropy Vaccine

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Flowers Before Flames + Life’s Entropy Fusion + Life’s Entropy Synapse + Life’s Entropy Vaccine

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Flowers Before Flames + Life's Entropy Fusion + Life's Entropy Synapse + Life's Entropy Vaccine

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Flowers Before Flames + Life’s Entropy Fusion + Life’s Entropy Synapse + Life’s Entropy Vaccine

Tube #3: Boysenberry Jam. I have been really digging the dark shades of late, so I mixed up a deep burgundy purple. Again, one I’d prefer to be more opaque– I think I liked the straight-up Lip Theory mixes I did in this color family better. Which means I will have to buy full-size lip theories and make one that I can apply with a doe-foot applicator. (By swatch / mix # gobjillion, I was running low on several of my tester shades.) But this IS certainly pretty! Just look at the subtle blue sparkles!

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Dispersion + Life's Entropy Osmosis + Life's Entropy Crystal Violet + Life's Entropy Vaccine

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Dispersion + Life’s Entropy Osmosis + Life’s Entropy Crystal Violet + Life’s Entropy Vaccine

Life's Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Dispersion + Life's Entropy Osmosis + Life's Entropy Crystal Violet + Life's Entropy Vaccine

Life’s Entropy Placebo + Femme Fatale Dispersion + Life’s Entropy Osmosis + Life’s Entropy Crystal Violet + Life’s Entropy Vaccine

 

To sum up: I am enraptured with the Lip Theory system. I love it, and I think it’s an amazing quality for how little you pay. The samples are $1.50 each, and I created everything in these last 3 posts using just samples of the Lip Theory colors (plus a couple of lip-safe eyeshadow samples)– that’s how little you need for good payoff. The Placebo is $8 for a tube which will fill 4 of the empty gloss tubes (3/$5). If you want to play around with some unusual or new shades without shelling out a whole lot of cash, this is great. If you want to mix your own HG shade, it’s like having your own personal Bite Beauty Lip Lab. If you like long lasting, opaque color, it’s a slam dunk.

WELL DONE, Life’s Entropy! I will be back for more!

 

 

One thought on “Life’s Entropy Post #3: Mixes Using Placebo

Leave A Reply

