Life’s Entropy: Lip Theory Swatches

Top: Synapse, Transformation, Coralation, Vaccine, Big Bang Theory Bottom: Fusion, Derivative, Crystal Violet, Osmosis, Matrix, Nucleus

Top: Synapse, Transformation, Coralation, Vaccine, Big Bang Theory
Bottom: Fusion, Derivative, Crystal Violet, Osmosis, Matrix, Nucleus

Post one of probably three, this one will show you straight-up swatches of the 13 Life’s Entropy Lip Theory colors (of the 16-color collection) that I have purchased samples of. These are similar to OCC Lip Tar– and meant to be mixed and customized if desired– but muuuuuch less expensive, even at full size. To tell you the truth, I have long wanted to try out Lip Tar, but two things have stopped me: 1) the price– they are NOT inexpensive, and 2) the fact that they’re not terribly easy to touch up. I mean, who wants to carry a lip brush around in their purse? The Lip Theory line addresses at least one of those things. That said: whereas Lip Tar comes in a variety of finishes, only one of the Lip Theory colors has any metallic to them (Alloy, a white shade that I did not purchase), so the finish you’ll end up with is probably going to be an opaque creme.

Before I get to the swatches, I’ll tell you my overall thoughts– I really like them! You barely need any product at all to get opacity for most of the shades. They applied easily with a lip brush. I wear tested a few, and Big Bang Theory, Vaccine, and Fusion EASILY lasted through 5+ hours and a meal before fading. They do feather a little after 4 hours– a lipliner should fix that. I really ought to get a clear lipliner anyhow. They don’t feel drying, and the scent is very faintly cakey vanilla, but I only smelled it in a few of them (most strongly, strangely, in Nucleus).

Some notes on individual colors: Coralation changes color as you apply it. It starts out pastel-ish coral. Once applied, it is a much brighter coral. Crystal Violet and Synapse were the only two shades I had application issues with. Crystal Violet needs careful blending, and it’s fine on its own, albeit a bit less opaque than many of the other shades. Synapse never quite goes on even, but why you’d want a banana yellow on its own and not as a mixing color is beyond me.

As for customer service: I originally placed an order for 8 colors– it shipped in 3 weeks (inside the stated TAT). My second order (3 additional colors plus some Placebo) shipped within two days. I think how fast your order ships depends on what’s in stock and the queue, but neither order ran over TAT, and my email to Jane with a question was answered quickly.

Vegetarians and Vegans rejoice, all of the Lip Theories are Vegan, food-grade, and organic.

SWATCH TIME!

Big Bang Theory

Big Bang Theory

Big Bang Theory

Big Bang Theory

Big Bang Theory is a sexy blue-based red. You could even call it a holiday red. I luuuuurve it on its own.

Vaccine

Vaccine

Vaccine

Vaccine

Vaccine is a neutral pin-up red. Looks wonderful on its own, as well.

Transformation

Transformation

Transformation

Transformation

Transformation is a nearly neon tangerine orange. I bought two samples of this because I am sometimes a dummy and meant to buy Apoptosis instead (which is why you’ll see more than one skin swatch… I caught my mistake after I took swatches, oops).

Synapse

Synapse

Synapse

Synapse

Synapse: YECH I mean, I plan to use it for mixing. But on its own? YECH.

Coralation

Coralation

Coralation

Coralation

Coralation is a pastel coral that looks brighter than this in real life.

Derivative

Derivative

Derivative

Derivative

Derivative is a pastel cool-toned pink. It looks dreadful on me on its own, but is wonderful as a mixer.

Fusion

Fusion

Fusion

Fusion

Fusion is a POW-bright hot pink. This one also stains.

Crystal Violet

Crystal Violet

Crystal Violet

Crystal Violet

Crystal Violet is a macaron-pastel purple. I don’t really like it on its own, but it’s great as a mixer. Cool toned ladies should try it, especially.

Matrix

Matrix

Matrix

Matrix

Matrix is a Wicked Witch of the West green. I expected to hate this, but it’s oddly charming!

Osmosis

Osmosis

Osmosis

Osmosis

Osmosis is a primary blue. The formula on this one is AMAZING, but it does stain.

Nucleus

Nucleus

Nucleus

Nucleus

Nucleus is black black blackity black. GOTH MODE ACTIVATED.

Crystal Violet, Matrix

Crystal Violet, Matrix

Crystal Violet, Matrix

Crystal Violet, Matrix

Fusion, Vaccine, Big Bang Theory

Fusion, Vaccine, Big Bang Theory

Fusion,  Vaccine, Big Bang Theory

Fusion, Vaccine, Big Bang Theory

Derivative, Coralation, Transformation

Derivative, Coralation, Transformation

Bottom - Top: Derivative, Coralation, Transformation

Bottom – Top: Derivative, Coralation, Transformation

Synapse, Transformation, Osmosis, Nucleus

Synapse, Transformation, Osmosis, Nucleus

Life's Entropy Lip Theory Swatches

Post two is going to be fun mixes! I came up with some really fun ones!

 

Leave A Reply

