Cocoa Pink Autumn Haul!

Cocoa Pink Autumn Haul

I have been a customer at Cocoa Pink for a few years now. I started trying their haircare products when I went SLS free for my hair, trying to mitigate the damage done to my hair from over-processing before I could (and did) chop the damage off. In fact, their Princess Poo (love the name, hah!) was my first exposure to the weirdness of lather-free shampoo.

Known for their nearly-overwhelming scent list that can be added to just about any of their base products, Cocoa Pink specializes in foodie/gourmand/sweet scents, although there are others to choose from as well. Here’s what I got in my latest haul!

Voluptuous Body Butter in Black Chocolate Pumpkin Slices of sweet pumpkin dipped in our bestselling Black Chocolate (Black Amber & Dark Chocolate).

Their incredibly thick, rich Voluptuous Body Butter is absolutely WONDERFUL on my dry legs when the weather turns cold. As for the scent, I had tried Black Chocolate before, after receiving a sample in a previous order. Generally, I steer clear of chocolate as a perfume / scent note, but I was shocked when I opened the sample to find that their Black Chocolate blend smelled of sinful dark chocolate, but not that weird plastic-y note I tend to associate with chocolate perfume accords. It’s definitely sexy-foody. So for fall, I tried the Black Chocolate Pumpkin variant, and I have to say I don’t smell a whole lot of pumpkin. It smells pretty close to Black Chocolate, like rich dark amber with a dark chocolate base. Perhaps the creaminess of the base enveloped it? I have noticed that some scents change from base to base, and the creamier they are, the more some notes get overtaken.  Anyway, it still smells mouth-watering. Yum.

Voluptuous Body Butter in Winchester House Kitchen – The distinct aroma of autumn in the Winchester house kitchen with notes of aged oak, fresh baked pumpkin pie, 5 fold orange essential oil coated in the warm essence of light muscovado sugar, fresh ginger, sticky gobs of benzoin, warm buttery caramel simmering on the stovetop and just the barest hint of clove.

When freshly slathered, I get mostly a spicy orange with a woody oak base. After about 10 minutes, the buttery caramel completely takes over. Which is not surprising– my skin amps sweet notes quite a lot. It is a yummy scent that may cause others to nibble you.

Coco Mango Body Butter in Halloween Night (free sample) – Honeycrisp apples coated in buttery melted caramel, bourbon vanilla, crumbles of muscavado sugar, white sugar and candy corn.

Mostly, I got sugary caramel apples with faint candy corn overtones.

Princess Poo Shampoo in Harvest Wreath – A colorful array of newly harvested apples piled high in aged oak baskets below fragrant dried wreaths adorned with an abundance of dried lingonberries lit up by brilliant red and yellow autumn leaves grounded with cinnamon vanilla.

YUM! I think this is one I would really like as a perfume, because I find the shampoo base tends to eat up the woody notes. But as an avowed lover of lingonberries, this one smells like faintly-oaky apples and leaves with a juicy berry topnote. Definitely on my wishlist to try in other bases!

Argan Therapy Creme Conditioner in Pumpkin Chai Tea Wrap your hands around a cup of Pumpkin Chai Tea infused with swirls of fresh vanilla, creamed honey and pumpkin, it will not only warm the body but also your soul.

Not a lot of chai spice to be found here. Mostly this is a honey pumpkin scent that leaves you trailing the scent of honey pumpkin in your wake until your next shower. It’s very lovely, and a nice medium-weight conditioner that does not weigh down my very fine hair.

Wicked Pumpkin Perfume Oil (free sample)  Juicy fruits of cranberry, strawberry, blackberry and raspberry blended with sweet pumpkin puree.

Just what it says on the tin. I find the raspberry to be predominant, but the pumpkin puree is definitely there.

Bonfire Pumpkins Perfume Oil This scent started out as an accident then turned into my personal all time favorite scent. This year I decided to share. We accidentally mixed Pumpkin porridge with Marshmallow Fireside and created a sensational creamy bonfire scent with notes of maple oats drizzled with pure golden clover honey, a pinch of muscovado sugar all topped with a dollop of sugared pumpkin puree plus toasted vanilla marshmallows over a roaring fire. This is a smoky scent.

Overall, I found this to be a vanilla-honey pumpkin blend, very sweet. I found the smoky note to be fairly subtle. But it is very nice. I may try layering this over my Woodsmoke & Vanilla perfume oil (by Firebird Bath & Body) to really amp up that smoky note.

Ghost Train of Gettysburg Perfume Oil Faint memories of gun powder, ghostly vanilla mists blended with the distinct scents of pipe tobacco, overgrown grass, cold dirt, rusted metal, blackberries from a nearby wild blackberry bush, giant oak trees creaking softly in the breeze.

I JUMPED on this one when I saw it. Gettysburg is one of my favorite places. My husband and I go there several times a year, and always once in the Autumn to see the foliage and go one one of the ghost walks. We’re set to head up for an overnight trip this weekend, and I will definitely be bringing this to wear!  As for the scent, the first note that hits my nose is grassy dirt, but in a clean way. Next comes a very faint vanilla mint. No gunpowder. After about 20 minutes, I predominantly smelled blackberries.  This is a lovely Autumn scent if your nose has pumpkin fatigue, though it is subtle.

Spell Caster Perfume Oil Glowing amber essential oil wraps gently around notes of sticky golden honey, freshly picked mulberries and finished on a warm magical base of myrrh.

Oooh, this smells like the herb shop at my  Renaissance Festival. The predominant scent I get is one of honeyed mulberries. DELICIOUS.

Stanley Hotel Perfume Oil The unmistakable perfume of roses fills the room and the piano plays by itself… many people reported Flora Stanley the wife of the man who built this hotel over 100 years ago haunts her hotel today. Enrobed with the ghostly notes of translucent white rose petals, pink tea roses, sparkling white sugar crystals, soft nuances of pale honey infused earl grey tea with cream and sugar spiked with sensual black vanilla, sexy blood red musk grounded with just a pinch of white sandalwood.

Another subtle one on me, but still very pretty. Delicate white roses on a bed of honey. Sadly, I didn’t get any of the Earl Grey, which I would have liked, nor, surprisingly, any red musk.

Nature’s Paintbrush Perfume Oil – Beautiful Sugar Maple and Red Maple leaves lit up by the golden afternoon sun are set ablaze in vibrant colors paired with the quiet yet complex notes of chilled cabernet sauvignon and sweet pipe smoke swirling through the crisp air.

This was my favorite out of the scents I selected– lovely red wine and crunchy fallen leaves. It smells like a walk trough the woods in wine country, with the scent of ripe grapes on the vine. Very cozy and nice!

Union Hotel Perfume Oil – Flemington NJ’s most haunted location, once a bustling hotel in the early 1900’s with classy bar and restaurant has now been shut down and abandoned, many people have experienced apparitions who have explored its decaying interior since. Mugs filled with steaming hot buttered rum tinged red with blood oranges, sliced of rum raisin cake drizzled with brown sugar, maple, butterscotch and caramel with haunting notes of aged polished oak banisters and sparkling amber.

This one I had to review twice, because the first time I opened the vial, there was no scent. I slathered it liberally all over my arm. Nothing. Which is odd- generally speaking, their sweet scents tend to be the strongest on me. I contacted Cocoa Pink customer service to ask if I had gotten something mislabeled, and they immediately sent me out a replacement. (I would also like to note that this has never happened to me before, nor have I heard it happening to anyone else, and I was very pleased with the quick service.)

The second vial I received, which was slightly darker in color, definitely had scent! The predominant scent was of maple and caramel popcorn. With so much sugar happening, it is hard to be more specific than that, because this one is the kind of sugarpalooza that smells exactly like walking through a carnival or Autumn festival. It is quite yummy.

A note on the perfume oils-– they are $3 per vial, which I would say contains about 3x the oil of a BPAL imp or a standard decant. That said– I do not find them to be as potent as some of the other perfumes on the indie market, nor as complex. But that is okay with me, personally. Sometimes I find simple scents are what I want, and these work well for those needs. They lasted anywhere from 2 – 6 hours on me, and generally speaking, the sugary ones lasted the longest. I also like that you can choose an alcohol or an oil base– I always choose oil because if I find I like a scent, but not for wearing, I can pour it into some melted wax on my wax tart burner, and voila, it’s a room scent.

Turn-around time– I got mine in 3 weeks, right on target for the stated turnaround time when I placed my order.

What are your favorite Cocoa Pink scents/products?

Leave A Reply

