Luxury Lipstick! New NARS Audacious Lipstick in Janet

NARS Audacious Lipstick in Janet

Recently, NARS rolled out an extensive 40-color spread in their new luxury lipstick formula, Audacious. And of those many, many shades to choose from, which color did I select when given the opportunity to have one purchased for me as a birthday gift? One identical to a lipstick I already have, of course. *facepalm*

I really, really need to ban myself from buying magenta lipstick. It’s a problem.

In my defense, my first choice was Vivien, a dark berry-mauve, but apparently that’s only available through the NARS website, and was sold out on my birthday. So at Sephora, after swatching a bazillion lipsticks (including some STIFF competition from Bite Beauty), I chose Janet. Husband asked, “but don’t you already have that color?” And I, in the glow of Sephora’s deceitful incandescent lighting, crinkled my forehead and said, “I don’t think so.” 

The good news is that the formula is FREAKING WONDERFUL, which it damn well better be for $32.

The packaging is that standard rubbery finish that picks up every fingerprint, but there is a magnet inside the cap which means the top won’t pop off and completely ruin the inside of your purse.

NARS Audacious Lipstick in Janet

The color itself is a magenta-berry shade.

NARS Audacious Lipstick in Janet

The feel is light, smooth, emollient. It covers opaquely and wonderfully in one pass. I feels like a fancy-schmancy luxury lipstick. It lasts for about four hours (probably longer on others, but I have always had issues with wear time on my own lips).

NARS Audacious Lipstick in Janet

The color in my collection it matches is my beloved Urban Decay Jilted.

NARS Audacious Lipstick in Janet vs UD Jilted

I mean, I suppose you could say there’s like tiiiiiiny bit more warm tone in Jilted, but they’re basically identical. The major difference is how they look on the lips. Jilted is less creamy, slightly more metallic. The blue shift is more visible. And it doesn’t do as good a job of making the looks look plush and soft as Janet does.

NARS Audacious Lipstick in Janet vs UD Jilted

But yeah, the’re pretty close.

Aaaanyway. I’ve still got my eye on Vivien for my next opportunity to splurge.

Do you own any of the Audacious shades? Thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Luxury Lipstick! New NARS Audacious Lipstick in Janet

Leave A Reply

