Femme Fatale Cosmetics – Swatches & Review!

Last month, I placed my second order at Femme Fatale Cosmetics. I really wanted a smattering of the new Post-Apocalyptic collection (Adventure Time themed!) and also some shades that push my own color envelope. In addition, I purchased three full sizes of some of my favorite colors from my last order: Alpine Skies, Flowers Before Flames, and Witchwood.

As with my last review, I was definitely not disappointed! The shadows are as buttery and wonderful as in my first order. I also picked up a thermal polish, Gossamer Dust, and was gifted with a mini of another, Mushroom Cloud.

Without further ado:

Femme Fatale Cosmetics

First up: the five color full-size stacker I picked up. It features my three repeat purchases, as well as two full sizes I took a chance on: Peebles & Cake.

Femme Fatale Cosmetics - 5 Color Stacker

Cake, Alpine Skies, Peebles, Flowers Before Flames, Witchwood

Cake, Alpine Skies, Peebles, Flowers Before Flames, Witchwood

And the samples:

Inner Madness, Dispersion, Royal Tarts

Inner Madness, Dispersion, Royal Tarts

Dispersion

Dispersion

Spearmint Candy, Cloud Kingdom, Marrowpetal

Spearmint Candy, Cloud Kingdom, Marrowpetal

Cosmic Owl, Time Lost

Cosmic Owl, Time Lost

Deepmoss, Frostfire, The Nightmare

Deepmoss, Frostfire, The Nightmare

The Nightmare

The Nightmare

I also put in a sample order for two of my bellydance troupemates, one of whom ordered Perspecto-Illusion. While I can’t swatch it for you, I did take a picture of the sample baggie because it looks quite close to Alpine Skies & Spearmint Candy– Spearmint Candy in particular. While they look different in the baggie, the applied product is quite similar, at least from what I can tell.

Perspecto-Illusion, Spearmint Candy, Alpine Skies

Perspecto-Illusion, Spearmint Candy, Alpine Skies

Alpine Skies vs Spearmint Candy

Alpine Skies vs Spearmint Candy

Spearmint Candy vs Perspecto-Illusion

Spearmint Candy vs Perspecto-Illusion

And now for swatches!

Femme Fatale Cosmetics

Cake, Royal Tarts, Peebles

Cake

Cake

Cake: A sparkly ivory with slight golden shimmer, delicate and pretty!

I got this in a full size because, let’s face it, a highlight shade is a highlight shade, and every look needs one. This is a champagne ivory shimmer.

Royal Tarts

Royal Tarts

Royal Tarts: A washed out mauve-rose base which can lean grey, and orange shimmer.

This is, indeed, a greyed-out rose. I didn’t see orange shimmer so much as a pale gold one that gives it a peachy-gold look in some lights– not unlike Urban Decay’s X or a paler version of Fyrinnae’s Rapunzel Had Extensions. This is the kind of shade that looks amazing with my skin tone.

Peebles

Peebles

Peebles: A coral toned bubblegum pink with green shimmer.

Not as vibrant a pink as some of the shades I’ve previously reviewed, Peebles is awesome for pretty bright spring/summer looks that aren’t TOO out of the box. It’s a very wearable shade, and the green shimmer makes it really pop!

Time Lost, Cosmic Owl

Time Lost, Cosmic Owl

Time Lost

Time Lost

Time Lost: A buttery smooth mid range brown with warm tones and a satin finish.

Pretty much what it says on the tin! A very versatile brown shade, not especially exciting.

Cosmic Owl

Cosmic Owl

Cosmic Owl: A gorgeous smooth bronze-brown with golden tones – almost leans olive or orange in some lights.

This is basically steampunk gold– you know, that dirty bronzey gold that looks sultry and awesome. Foiled, it’s a little more golden.

Cloud Kingdom, Marrowpetal

Cloud Kingdom, Marrowpetal

Cloud Kingdom

Cloud Kingdom

Cloud Kingdom

Cloud Kingdom

Cloud Kingdom: A soft baby blue base with pink shimmers.

I tried so hard to pick up the pink shimmer with my camera, but my camera didn’t really want to. The pink shimmer is very apparent in real life! I was worried this might look too close to Moonglow, but it doesn’t. It’s a pretty pastel blue that’s positively luminous.

Marrowpetal

Marrowpetal

Marrowpetal: A vibrant grass green with soft copper gold shimmer.

Marrowpetal was my lone disappointment in terms of formula. It was sheer and hard to evenly build up. Which is sad, as it’s a pretty shade of golden green. Foiling it helped a little, but it was still fairly sheer.

Inner Madness, Dispersion

Inner Madness, Dispersion

Dispersion

Dispersion

Dispersion:  A deep mulberry with bold teal blue shimmer.

Oh maaaaaaan. This has the same pretty base berry shade as Underlord, but instead of a green shimmer, it’s got teal, and it’s HYPNOTIC.  The overall effect is a super shimmery red-based purple. So. Pretty.

Inner Madness

Inner Madness

Inner Madness: A bright mid-range cool-toned purple with a blue duochrome finish and blue/aqua sparkles.

This one is a touch less blue-based than Sugar Rush, and probably a little more even a shade, as well. It’s a lovely purple with some blue-ish shimmer. Foiled, it almost looks metallic.

The Nightmare, Deepmoss, Frostfire

The Nightmare, Deepmoss, Frostfire

Frostfire

Frostfire

Frostfire: A strong azure blue with teal undertones, Frostfire has a soft reddish shine and a scattering of pink and golden sparkles.

I never, ever wear darker blue eyeshadow. And yet, I could not help myself. The pinky copper shimmer in this makes it absolutely wonderful. The formula was a little bit tricky– this is one that works much better when patted on and not blended out a lot, or the shimmer separates from the base shade.

Deepmoss

Deepmoss

Deepmoss: A deep navy blue base with a satin smooth green and blue colour shifting shimmer.

This is basically a deep teal. Dry, it’s slightly greyed out, but the blue shimmer gives it nice dimension. Foiled, it’s full on teal shimmer.

The Nightmare

The Nightmare

The Nightmare: An eggplant purple base with intense golden green glimmers and sparkles.

Another color I don’t tend to wear (dark shades invariably make me look like I’ve got black eyes), but it was so pretty I couldn’t resist. It’s a dark cool-toned purple with gorgeous green contrasting sparklies. The contrast is way more apparent in real life, but my camera was resisting capturing it. If you like dark shadows, definitely try this one. It’s really unique.

Spearmint Candy

Spearmint Candy

Spearmint Candy vs Alpine Skies

Spearmint Candy vs Alpine Skies

Spearmint Candy:  A very pale lavender with a frosty silver/green/blue colour-shifting finish.

Compared to Alpine Skies, the shimmer was more blue and less teal. That said, the base color is more apparent than Alpine Skies, which blends in with my skintone so well that I only really see the shimmer. This sort of has a frosty pastel look overall, very mid-90’s. I’m going to test this out as  lid wash, and also over some darker shades.

 

Anyhow, those are the swatches. I’ll be back tomorrow with Gossamer Dust!

One thought on “Femme Fatale Cosmetics – Swatches & Review!

Leave A Reply

