A Watermelon-scented Sugar Glaze from Milani

Milani Lipstick: Sugar RushI recently found myself in Walgreens to pick up a few of my old standbys– waterproof makeup remover, nail polish remover, and other uninspiring things that get colorful gunk off of my person– when I was drawn to a display of Milani’s Color Statement lipsticks. Having never tried a Milani lipstick before, but having vague notions that they are generally beloved by my fellow beauty bloggers, I decided to splurge $5.50 on a tiny bit of lipsticky happiness.

Considering it’s spring, I ruled out many of the deep reds and berries in favor of Sugar Glaze, a frosty golden pink. 

Milani Lipstick: Sugar Rush

Milani Lipstick: Sugar Rush

It’s the kind of shade that looks nice when paired with just about anything, from neutral eyes to brights. And while I don’t tend to be drawn to frosts, this one at least has the kind of coral-tinged pink base where I wouldn’t look like a confused time traveler from 2002.

Milani Lipstick: Sugar Rush

Now, here’s where things got weird: being bare-lipped at the time of purchase, I applied this pretty much immediately.

It smells very strongly of watermelon Jolly Ranchers. Like, mouth-wateringly so.

Apparently, that’s a thing with Milani lipsticks? I didn’t know. Well, ok. At least it’s better than that funk nasty grandma smell that L’Oreal’s lippies have, and it makes me smile whenever I apply it.

Anyhow, it’s very pretty. But it does have a very subtly gritty feeling– in that if you really smoosh together and rub your lips together, you can feel the fine shimmer. But if you don’t, no worries. It’s got nice slip, it’s not sticky, and it wasn’t drying. For $5.50, I’d say I got my money’s worth.

Milani Lipstick: Sugar Rush

Are you a fan of Milani lipsticks? Which should I try next?

One thought on “A Watermelon-scented Sugar Glaze from Milani

Leave A Reply

