Sephora Collection – 10 Shades of Samba Waterproof Eyeliner Set + Swatches

Hey everybody! I’m back! It’s been a super busy month, but I’m excited because I have some fun things to share, in between house/apartment hunting, packing, and moving soon. I placed a Sephora order last week for some much lusted-after picks to treat myself through this chaotic time, so I’ll have some fun lipsticks to share later this week.

Is Donna ever wrong? I think not.

Is Donna ever wrong? I think not.

But first, I’m going to share something I bought a month or two ago. I’m a big fan of Urban Decay’s 24/7 eyeliners, but with a $20 apiece pricetag, it can be hard to justify splurging on new colors if you’re not absolutely sure they’ll work for you. So when I saw Sephora’s 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set at a comparable $49 for TEN full-sized shades, I decided to give it a try.

Sephora Collection 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set Sephora Collection 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set

These babies are creamy, soft, sharpenable, and waterproof, so you can tightline to your heart’s content. Not a bad deal at all. The other thing that really drew me to the set is the excellent mix of brights and staple neutrals.  Here, you have a highlighter white, three shades of neutral, a gold (which looks great on just about everybody), and five brights for those who want to try some new things or colorful looks. 

Blonde Ambition, Tropical Dancefloor, Cookie Crunch, Tiramisu, Black Lace

Blonde Ambition, Tropical Dancefloor, Cookie Crunch, Tiramisu, Black Lace

Blonde Ambition, Tropical Dancefloor, Cookie Crunch, Tiramisu, Black Lace

Blonde Ambition, Tropical Dancefloor, Cookie Crunch, Tiramisu, Black Lace

Blonde Ambition, Tropical Dancefloor, Cookie Crunch, Tiramisu, Black Lace

Blonde Ambition, Tropical Dancefloor, Cookie Crunch, Tiramisu, Black Lace

Blonde Ambition is a creamy ivory white shimmer. It’s great for inner-eye brightening. It is, however, the softest of the shades offered, so be careful, or yours may crumble.

Tropical Dancefloor is a true gold shimmer. It’s a pretty universally-flattering awesome shade.

Cookie Crunch is a not-quite brown, not-quite bronze, not-quite taupe shimmer shade. It’s slightly cool toned.

Tiramisu & Black Lace are your typical staples: matte brown and black. They are wonderfully pigmented and rich. Very impressed.

Romantic Comedy, Eccentric Diva,  Caipirinha Dreamin’, Banana Split, Summer Cruise

Sephora Collection 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set

Romantic Comedy, Eccentric Diva,  Caipirinha Dreamin’, Banana Split, Summer Cruise

Romantic Comedy, Eccentric Diva, Summer Cruise, Banana Split, Caipirinha Dreamin’

Romantic Comedy, Eccentric Diva,  Caipirinha Dreamin’, Banana Split, Summer Cruise

Romantic Comedy, Eccentric Diva, Summer Cruise, Banana Split, Caipirinha Dreamin’

Romantic Comedy is a bright pink with subtle silvery microsparkle.

Eccentric Diva, a blue-toned purple, is the only color I was a bit disappointed with. It’s not a bad shade by any means, just not as awesome as the others. It’s a bit patchy unless you build up the color.

Summer Cruise is a true blue shimmer. While not as pigmented as its comparable shades in the Urban Decay line, this is absolutely a serviceable color.

Banana Split shocked me with how awesome it is. A nearly-neon yellow matte, the pigmentation in this shade is pretty awesome! Now, if only I could figure out how to wear it…

Caipirinha Dreamin’ is a meadowgrass green shimmer. Softer than a true grass green, it’s nevertheless bright and lovely. I’ve been using this one a lot and finding it suprisingly versatile!

 

I’ve been using the liners in this set for about a month now, and I can honestly say that I’m very glad I purchased it. It’s versatile, and the colors really deliver! On average, I get about 10 hours’ wear out of the colors, and about 6 on my waterline, which is pretty great considering I have sensitive, runny eyes. The texture is creamy, and these don’t drag or skip on my eyelids at all. They sharpen up very nicely.

Overall, I’d say that if you’re looking to change up your beauty routine or get a nice library of fun colors for not a lot of dough, these are a great choice.

 

Leave A Reply

