New Darling Girl Cosmetics Swatches!

The same week I got my Femme Fatale order was the week I also received my second Darling Girl Cosmetics order. It featured a host of new shades, as well as re-orders of shades that have become staples in my collection.

I purchased a bunch of minis, as well as a blogger pack of shades. In addition, they tossed in two generous freebies.

Unicorn, Bubbles, Koi, Nerpette

Unicorn, Bubbles, Koi, Nerpette

Freebies: Chickster, Wicked

Freebies: Chickster, Wicked

Frankenstein, Bronze Dawn, Lovelorn, Miranda Stardust

Frankenstein, Bronze Dawn, Lovelorn, Miranda Stardust

Repurchases: Obviously a Wig, Hope Diamond Dust, Prometheus Stardust

Repurchases: Obviously a Wig, Hope Diamond Dust, Prometheus Stardust

Mary Jane's Spectral Shift

Mary Jane’s Spectral Shift

Hey Mickey, Living Dead Gurl Blush

Hey Mickey, Living Dead Gurl Blush

Ladyhawke, Nightwatch

Ladyhawke, Nightwatch

Time for some swatches! As usual with duochromes, I swatched them dry and over Pixie Epoxy. 

Ladyhawke, Wicked

Ladyhawke, Wicked

Wicked

Wicked

Ladyhawke

Ladyhawke

Ladyhawke is similar to one of my Femme Fatale faves, Alpine Skies. It’s a taupey base with very strong teal blue shimmer. Super pretty.

Wicked was one of my freebies. The website says “lime green” but this definitely wasn’t limey, nor does it look anything like the site swatch. It was more of a seafoam green. So, it might be an oops, which is why it was a freebie!

Bubbles, Unicorn

Bubbles, Unicorn

Unicorn

Unicorn

Bubbles

Bubbles

Apologies in advance: my camera was having a really rough time taking pictures of highlight shades. So you’ll have to take my word on the color descriptions, since they look identical. I promise that in real life, however, they don’t.

Bubbles is a frosty off-white with mostly blue duochrome shimmer. There’s a little pink in there, but mostly, it’s an aqua-ish color.

Unicorn is a highlight shade that looks like palest green in the jar, but when applied, the shimmer is very pinky-violet. It is very lovely, and if I use it in some looks, hopefully that will show up better. Maybe I just need to swatch these two over black.

Chickster, Mary Jane's Spectral Shift

Chickster, Mary Jane’s Spectral Shift

Chickster (bottom), Mary Jane's Spectral Shift (top)

Chickster (bottom), Mary Jane’s Spectral Shift (top)

Mary Jane's Spectral Shift

Mary Jane’s Spectral Shift

Chickster

Chickster

Chickster & Mary Jane’s Spectral Shift were two similar shades.

Chickster was a freebie, and a newer shade, I believe. It’s got a pretty caramel-taupe base with green and lavender shimmers. If you’re a neutral eye person, you should try this out, because it’s totally not boring.

Mary Jane’s Spectral Shift is a slightly mauvier version of the same. Only, as I understand, the Spectral Shift line can be used multipurpose, not just as eyeshadow. I think it would make a marvelous highlighter on cool-toned ladies. It also looks awesome foiled.

Lovelorn, Bronze Dawn

Lovelorn, Bronze Dawn

Bronze Dawn

Bronze Dawn

Lovelorn

Lovelorn

Lovelorn was one of my favorites. It’s that beautiful, wistful Victorian rose shade, chockablock full of golden shimmer. Now, I think, in general, you’ll want to pat this on, as the website suggests, rather than brushing it, because those colors separate during blending. Foiled, it’s a bronzey gold.

Bronze Dawn is a deep reddish mauve with heaps of bronzey-copper sparkle. Foiled, it’s bronze, entirely.

Hey Mickey, Obviously A Wig, Nerpette

Hey Mickey, Obviously A Wig, Nerpette

Nerpette

Nerpette

Obviously a Wig

Obviously a Wig

Hey Mickey

Hey Mickey

I have a love affair with fuchsia and magenta shades, and Obviously A Wig is already one of my all time favorite eyeshadows, which I have reviewed previously. I picked up a few of these similar shades for comparison.

Hey Mickey is warmer than OAW, a pinky-fuchsia with pretty blue iridescence. Very pretty and perfect for Autumn, I think. Be forewarned, however: this one stains like a mofo.

Nerpette was sort of a disappointment, imo. It was chalkier than all the other shades, and didn’t want to blend. The color payoff isn’t as good as I’m used to with Darling Girl. For a pretty standard shade (cool deep purple, blue shimer), this one is a pass.

Koi Diamond Dust, Nightwatch

Koi Diamond Dust, Nightwatch

Nightwatch

Nightwatch

Koi Diamond Dust

Koi Diamond Dust

 Koi is one of Darling Girl’s fantabulous Diamond Dust shades. It’s an orange-coral with very visible blue sparkle. So much fun!

Nightwatch is a warmer mid-to-deep purple with pretty aqua and green shimmer. This is another one that is better patted than swiped, I think. As you can see, when foiled, the shimmer seems to all stick together (the website’s swatch also looks a bit stripey).

Frankenstein, Hope

Frankenstein, Hope

Frankenstein

Frankenstein

Frankenstein is a really cool, unique shade. It starts off a taupey-grey with pretty pinky-copper shimmer. Foiled, though, it’s the color of aged bronze. This is a shade that tends not to go very well with my coloring, but I really like it nonetheless!

Hope should not be judged on this swatch. I did get a better swatch of it when I pressed it.

Miranda

Miranda

Miranda, Prometheus

Miranda, Prometheus

A thing to note about the Stardust shades: they are not powder. They comprised of fine flakes, not loose shadow. Which is part of the reason why they are SO reflective. The other thing is that my brush was still slightly damp by the time I got to these (I clean my brushes between swatches), which is why they look a bit gloopy.

Prometheus is a re-order for me (it’s easier and faster to apply than traditional glitter for stage, but has nearly the same effect), and there are swatches of it here, because I pressed it. I plan to do the same for Miranda. This is mostly just to show you how the two shades differ in color.

While Prometheus has a white base with pink/purple/blue shimmer, Miranda starts off with a pinker base, which shifts mauve and copper. The highlights are still blue, aqua, and purple. It is SO FREAKIN’ SHINY.

Living Dead Gurl Blush

Living Dead Gurl Blush

I got the Living Dead Gurl blush as a sample baggie in my blogger pack because I was really intrigued, but knew this would probably not play nice with my warm complexion. I haven’t worn it on my face yet– I’ll let you know how that turns out. It’s a pretty lavender purple with lovely green shimmer. I just love how unusual it is!

So there are the swatches! Darling Girl makes some truly lovely shades, and if you love duochromes and shimmers, then they’re an absolute must to check out. Hopefully, I’ll have the chance to do some looks with these over the next week so you can see them in action!

Leave A Reply

