Deconstructing Eden: Kushiel’s Legacy Perfume Reviews, Part II

It’s been a little quiet ’round these parts. A big part of that is that I have gotten back to a normal work schedule after a long winter of being ill, and preparing for a multi-day vending / performing / watching extravaganza at the Art of the Belly bellydance festival in Ocean City, MD. I am selling my handmade jewelry as well as performing with one of my troupes, Transcendence Tribal. So, I spent two weeks hurriedly filling the gaps in my product line, making more labradorite, druzy, and fairy wing pieces.

In the process, I broke, like, five nails. Oh wait, six. It’s an occupational hazard when you hammer things for a living. Not to mention, the patina/polish process is hell on my poor cuticles. Sigh. Anyway, I had to cut all my nails pretty short, and I’m waiting for them to grow back. I also haven’t had time for anything more than the most basic makeup. But fear not, I will take shots of pretty bellydance makeup.

What I have had time for is spritzing on perfume, and so I have four more reviews from Deconstructing Eden‘s Kushiel’s Legacy line.

Image

 

Delaunay: Ambergris, red leaves (for his hair), black agar wood, a touch of leather, amber key accord, rosewood, cassis, a touch of lime and the barest drop of fresh apple. The fruits are not at all sweet and this blend is absolutely masculine.

Masculine is right. This is a scent I want to nuzzle. It opens with a punch of leather softened by ambergris, and dry, dry leaves. The woodiness reminded me a little of vetiver– that gravelly, musky manly smell– and I got absolutely no fruit. Overall, this gives off the impression of an Autumnal cologne.

Alcuin: Cool and clean as befits the character. Alcuin is white musks and white amber, the pale greens and grays of his marque, with moss and a chypre accord and a base of soft wood.

Alcuin is so subtle that you almost don’t notice it. Fitting, I think, considering the subtlety of the character it was created for. The impression I got from it was of white musk and reedy, blonde wood. There are overtones of ozone and aquatic, but this scent is so unobtrusive that I had to sniff my wrist closely to be sure it was actually there. It’s clean, bright, and unisex.

Melisande: This blend opens with cinnamon, Sambac Jasmine and fresh ginger. Heart notes of a chypre accord, amber essential oil, Egyptian musk, tuberose, and spice accord. Clean skin musks, ambergris, mahogany wood, black agar, precious resins, the barest touch of patchouli to darken the blend and leather form the base notes.

This opens with spice– cinnamon and ginger– backed by a heavy chypre incense base. After a moment, there is a creamy, musky scent as well– I am going to guess that’s the Egyptian musk, which always reads as sort of creamy to me. The creamy stage didn’t last particularly long on me, but on the drydown, I got a base of amber still touched with spice, and the faintest overtone of Jasmine Sambac. I think this perfectly expresses the character, and is a lovely take on the ‘oriental spice’ genre.

Prince of Travellers: Musk and leather, Tsingani spices, dusty tobacco and exotic woods.

I absolutely adored Prince of Travellers. Adored. The description is spot on– it’s leather and spice, backed by wood. To me, it smells like a Renaissance faire, particularly as it sweetened on my skin as I wore it. It’s the scent of mysterious parcels, of swashbuckling romance novel heroes, of rakes-with-a-heart-of-gold. I spent a good deal of time that day nuzzing into my own sleeve. A winner, for sure!

 

That’s all for now! I have some more of the Night Court houses and the fallen angels to review, so there will be more reviews forthcoming.

*Note: for this set, I purchased all but Prince of Travellers.

Leave A Reply

