Maybelline Color Elixir Lip Color – Rose Redefined & Glistening Amber

Continuing their streak of awesome drugstore lip products, not too long ago, Maybelline released their new Color Elixir formula in a dizzying array of colors. These are lip glosses, but they come in a wide range of finishes– sheer to opaque, shimmery and not.

Let me just say I’m generally not a gloss person. That said, I am DEFINITELY not a matte person when it comes to lip products, and when I was lemming something new, I was lured in by the super cute packaging. Because look! Super cute packaging!

Maybelline ColorElixir - Rose Redefined & Glistening AmberThey look like lipsticks, but they’re glosses. Adorable.

Anyhow, given that I recently discovered that softer pinks look quite nice on me, one of the shades I picked up was Rose Redefined, a softer rose pink shade. I also got Glistening Amber, a sparkly nude, to warm up neutral lip looks. When worn, it definitely leans yellowy on me, so I don’t like it by itself at all. I think I probably would have done better to pick up one of the more caramel-y shades.

Maybelline ColorElixir - Rose Redefined & Glistening AmberThey have doe foot applicators. They’re nice and soft, so they go on pretty easily.

Maybelline ColorElixir - Rose Redefined & Glistening AmberThese two were decently pigmented. It can be really hard to tell ahead of time whether the shade you’re looking at is sheer or more opaque, so I suggest Googling swatches if you have a particular preference.

Maybelline ColorElixir - Glistening AmberThis is Glistening Amber. It’s sheerer than Rose Redefined, but you can definitely see the yellowy gold cast and the sparkle.

Maybelline ColorElixir - Rose RedefinedAnd Rose Redefined, which is just sooooo pretty.

Maybelline ColorElixir - Rose RedefinedIt was all soft and plush and I like this one a LOT. It’s just so non-fussy and put-together looking.

The formula is oil-based, so it feels really plush on your lips. It’s on the stickier side, but it’s a gloss, so what do you really expect? Longevity is about 2 hours. It has sort of a floral-y scent that I don’t care for, but it fades after about 15 minutes. Memo to drugstore brands: vanilla, not florals. Please and thank you.

Overall, I really like these! I’m in the process of checking out other swatches, and I may add one of the purples to my collection.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Elixir Lip Color – Rose Redefined & Glistening Amber

Leave A Reply

