Bright Lips to Burst Winter Doldrums – Maybelline Vivids

One of the most blogger-lauded products of 2013 were Maybelline’s ColorSensational Vivids lipsticks. From between $7 – $9 (depending on your local drugstore, or less if you caught them on sale), you could get the kind of bright pigmentation and staying power that had only before been seen in high-end brands like Urban Decay.

Sometime around last summer, I purchased three, but somehow never got around to posting them here. Now that Spring is somewhat in sight and we are ALL sick of winter, I thought I’d write about them, because lord knows we could use some color.

Maybelline ColorSensational Vivids

They’re packaged in these neon orange tubes, in a similar style to the other ColorSensational lipsticks. I think they’re very cool, but you do have to peek at the bottom for the shade, and they’re not always the most secure if your lipsticks live in your purse.

Maybelline ColorSensational Vivids

The shades I bought were Neon Red, Shocking Coral, and Vivid Rose. There are a few LE additions to the core Vivids line, so in addition to bright pinks and reds, there were also traffic cone oranges and take-no-prisoners violets.

Neon Red, Shocking Coral, Vivid Rose

Neon Red, Shocking Coral, Vivid Rose

Neon Red, Shocking Coral, Vivid Rose

Neon Red, Shocking Coral, Vivid Rose

Neon Red is an orange-leaning bright tomato red. Definitely for warm-toned peeps. I wore this several times and enjoyed it immensely.

Shocking Coral is a yellow-pink. While it definitely looks warm toned, this one was a disaster on me in person. The camera had a hard time capturing the true color, but it clashed with my skin tone quite a lot. I have actually never worn this one out of the house and probably never will, so maybe I should give it away.

Vivid Rose is a super-bright rose-pink. How this one looks on you will probably depend on your skin tone– I think warm and cool tones could pull it off, but how pink vs purple it looks on you will depend on the tone itself. On me, it’s a slightly warm pink. It’s pretty great and I will definitely wear it come Spring.

Neon Red, Shocking Coral, Vivid Rose

Neon Red, Shocking Coral, Vivid Rose

Wear time on these is EXCELLENT. They’re not moisturizing, per-se, but they’re definitely not drying. The pigmentation is out of this world for a drugstore product.

Shocking Coral

Shocking Coral

Shocking Coral looked, in person, both more chalky and more yellow on me. I don’t know how to describe it, exactly, but it went from cool and bright into full-on clown territory. Do not want.

Vivid Rose

Vivid Rose

This is more like it. Love Vivid Rose.

Neon Red

Neon Red

Neon Red is so sassy! It’s hard for me to wear reds with my magenta hair, but this one had just enough orange in it that it didn’t clash too badly.

Look using Maybelline Neon Red

If you’re a fan of bold lips, try this line on for size! I bought them thinking that I’d basically be color-testing them in case I wanted to order high-end equivalents of the shades, and then found myself really impressed by the formula!

4 thoughts on “Bright Lips to Burst Winter Doldrums – Maybelline Vivids

Leave A Reply

