Be Conscious Cosmetics: An Indie Option for Vegan Makeup

Legal Disclosure: these samples were provided by the company for review. All opinions are my own, and I was not financially compensated for them.

Be Conscious Cosmetics Two weeks ago, I was contacted by Christina of Be Conscious Cosmetics in Albuquerque, NM, to ask if I would be interested in reviewing some of her products. My first PR samples! How very exciting. (Side note, man, I miss ABQ. I got engaged on top of the Sandia Mountains. I’d love to go back some time, or even move there permanently.)

When the package came, there was a powder foundation, 10 eyeshadow samples, and two lipsticks.

Be Conscious Cosmetics - Vanilla 02 FoundationI’ll start with the foundation. I told her that I’d never before used powder or mineral foundation, so a quick how-to would help me immensely in evaluating her product. I am pretty addicted to my Beautyblender, and I tend to stick to mixing high-pigment foundations with BB cream to cover the redness I experience around my nose and chin (crucial when your hair is magenta). She wrote back instructions, and in the end, I used a large, dense blush brush to put the foundation on and blend it.

Be Conscious Cosmetics - Vanilla 02 FoundationLet me just say: I was absolutely SHOCKED at how good the coverage was. I was, to  be honest, not expecting much from a powder foundation, but this stuff was very nicely pigmented.

Be Conscious Cosmetics - Vanilla 02 Foundation

Here’s a close-up of me wearing Vanilla 02. As you can see, it’s just a bit too dark for me at the moment, but it’s probably the shade I’d use in the summer. My blending could use a little bit of work, but since it was my first time, I would not hold that against the product itself, which I found pretty easy to use.

There’s no noticeable redness around my nose.  If I were to switch over to a powder product, I’d probably still keep a cream concealer on hand to go after zits and under-eye circles, but as a foundation, this evened very nicely without feeling heavy. I know some people don’t like liquid foundations because they feel like they’re wearing a mask, and this foundation will definitely not give you that feeling.

Application time is a bit longer than liquid foundation, though. I am guessing, depending on your skill level with it, you’re probably going to spend 2-5 minutes blending, whereas I get my liquid on in 1-2 mins.

Be Conscious Cosmetics - Vanilla 02 Foundation

And an arm swatch of Vanilla 02. This shade definitely leans warm, and looked even more warm on my face. I experienced no particular oxidation over the course of the day.

Next up are the shadows.

Be Conscious Cosmetics - Eyeshadow

Pearl, Silver, Pewter, Periwinkle, Sage

Pearl, Silver, Pewter, Periwinkle, Sage

Pearl, Silver, Pewter, Periwinkle, Sage

Pearl, Silver, Pewter, Periwinkle, Sage

Pearl is a soft white shimmer. While it’s shimmery, there’s not really any opalescence happening. Cool toned ladies could use this as a highlight.

Silver is a blue-leaning medium grey with silver shimmer.

Pewter is a very densely-pigmented charcoal with dark silver shimmer. It’s an excellent choice for a smokey eye.

Periwinkle is definitely not periwinkle. It’s a shimmery slate blue that’s almost but not quite dark enough to qualify as navy.

Sage is also not sage. It’s actually a cool-leaning mid cool-toned green with stunning but subtle aqua shimmer.

Be Conscious Cosmetics - Eyeshadow

Pink, Gold, Champagne, Autumn, Toffee

Pink, Gold, Champagne, Autumn, ToffeePink, Gold, Champagne, Autumn, Toffee

Pink is a stunner. It’s a deep, romantic rose with gorgeous gold sparklies. I am saving this one for a Valentine’s look, for sure!

Gold is a taupe-based gold shimmer. It’s not as bright or metallic as I would have guessed based on the name, but it is a very nice neutral. Both warm and cool toned ladies could probably use this as a lid wash.

Champagne is a medium taupe shimmer. It pulls cool toned, but isn’t too cool for warm tones.

Autumn is a stunner. It’s hard to get well and truly worked up about neutrals after three years of their dominance in the makeup world, but this rich, dense warm brown is a delight. Probably one of the best neutrals I’ve yet to use.

Toffee is another name that had me scratching my head. This is totally not the color of toffee. It’s a deep grey brown shimmer. It didn’t look quite so cool toned in the bag, but it applied, in swatches and on my eyes, with cooler undertones.

And here’s a neutral eye look I did with Autumn, Toffee, and Gold. It’s a basic neutral eye, because I tend to form first impressions on how well the basics are executed. I used Autumn in the crease, toffee blended in at the outer crease and along the lashline, and Gold on the lid. These shades all blended extremely well, and went on like buttah. Well, vegan buttah, that is. No chalky messes here.

Used: Gold, Toffee, Autumn

Used: Gold, Toffee, Autumn

Onto the lippies! I received Plum and Poppy.

Be Conscious Cosmetics - Lipstick

For indies, the balm-type packaging is not unexpected. I just prefer actual bullet shapes for more densely-pigmented products, because it makes application without a lip brush so much easier.

The other packaging issue I had here was with the label. It’s just paper. It was hard to tear off the perforation without taking some of the label with it, and if your lippies live in your purse (as mine do), this white paper label is going to get destroyed pretty quickly. I will be Scotch-taping mine for a little bit of protection, but if I may make a suggestion: glossy-finish or more durable labels, please!

Plum

Plum

Plum is… not particularly plum? Or rather– it’s kind of the color of actual plums (the outside, anyway), but not really the color “plum” has become to mean when describing shades. This is a warm chocolate brown with some purple undertones.

Be Conscious Cosmetics - Plum Lipstick

Plum Lipstick

Plum Lipstick

It’s very vampy, don’t you think? A definite statement lipstick, and unless you are a lady with a darker skintone, you probably won’t be wearing this one during the day. As you can see, it’s subtly glossy, so while that does impact wear time (3 hrs, give or take), it does mean it’s a comfortable shade to wear.

Poppy Lipstick

Poppy Lipstick

Poppy is an orange-coral with an overall coppery effect.

Be Conscious Cosmetics - Poppy Lipstick

Be Conscious Cosmetics - Face Look with Poppy Lipstick

Redheads of the world, rejoice– this shade is perfect for you guys. Seriously.

(Also, sorry about the blurriness. I only took two face shots of this one, and both were fuzzy.)

Plum, Poppy

Plum, Poppy

And that wraps up my first review of Be Conscious Cosmetics. The current range is rather small, compared to many other indies, but the quality of the products was quite nice, especially at the price point. The eyeshadows were especially of good quality. I’d like to see some more sophisticated packaging, overall, but if you’re in the market for vegan or socially conscious products, this is a good company to try on for size!

Leave A Reply

