Gilding the Girl: Nars Highlighting Blush in Albatross

So, recently, I accidentally deleted a bunch of pictures from this blog. Oops! But when I went to restore them, I found a hidden cache of products that I photographed when I bought them, but never posted about. The good thing about that is now, I’ve had those products for months, and I can give you better reviews of how they’ve worked for me.

The first product from that batch I want to talk about is the NARS Highlighting Blush in Albatross.

NARS Albatross Highlighting Blush

Oh, NARS. Just call it a highlighter. It’s white. This is not a blush.

NARS Albatross Highlighting Blush

In fact, it’s white with a golden sheen. A golden sheen that does not want to be photographed.

NARS Albatross Highlighting Blush

On my skin, this is very frosty. I don’t quite know how it manages, but the gold will also work very well for cool tones– and warm tones should not apply too much of it, or it may appear chalky. Ditto that for deeper skintones.

NARS Albatross Highlighting Blush

It’s a quality product, albeit an expensive one. It’s very easy to pick up the pigment and blend it out. I use it  primarily above and towards the outer corners of my cheekbones, and in a C-shape around the outside of my eyes, up into my temples.  I imagine where you put it will vary with your face shape.

Albatross gives me a very ethereal glow– it works very effectively for stage makeup and for photoshoots.  It’s definitely not in my everyday look, but if you’re looking for something to gently touch your face with gold, this is a good product to consider.

Also, I never wear this product without thinking of the following quote:

Mal: Ain’t all buttons and charts, little albatross. Know what the first rule of flying is? Well I s’pose you do, since you already know what I’m ’bout to say.
River: I do. But I like to hear you say it.
Mal: Love. Can know all the math in the ‘verse, but take a boat in the air that you don’t love? She’ll shake you off just as sure as the turn of the the worlds. Love keeps her in the air when she oughta fall down. tell you she’s hurtin’ ‘fore she keens. makes her a home.
Serenity

GEEK ‘TIL I DIE.

2 thoughts on “Gilding the Girl: Nars Highlighting Blush in Albatross

Leave A Reply

