Going to the Butterfly Ball: Lipstick Queen Lip Treatment in Goodbye

Hello everybody! I have the flu. It is really super not fun. It is also my sixth week of being almost constantly sick. I had, like, four whole days in that time period where I was not sick. Apparently my immune system is still not back from Thanksgiving break. Or I am an actual virus magnet. Could be either.

Lipstick Queen Butterfly Ball Lipstick: Goodbye

Luckily for me, I have a lot of swatches stored up that I can turn into posts. The first is for a product I purchased in November, and I’ve been using ever since.  It’s the Lipstick Queen Butterfly Ball Shimmer Lipstick Treatment in the shade Goodbye.

Lipstick Queen Butterfly Ball Lipstick: Goodbye

Lipstick Queen Butterfly Ball Lipstick: Goodbye

See the pretty blue shimmer? So lovely.

If you’re familiar with their most popular product, Medieval, you’re already familiar with the formula. It’s basically a fancy lip balm. Which… maybe I wouldn’t have purchased this product if I knew that, because frankly $24 for a lip balm is a bit ludicrous. But I did buy it, and I rarely return stuff unless it’s truly unacceptable (more out of laziness than principle), so I kept this in my purse and kept using it. And I’m glad I did, because as it turns out, I really like it.

In the tube, the super dark purple looks very scary, but this lipstick is actually quite sheer.

Lipstick Queen Butterfly Ball Lipstick: Goodbye

See? Very much non-scary. The first swatch is one swipe, the second is two. So the color is buildable, but it will always be sheer.

I’d describe the color as “grape jelly.” It’s a purple with mauve undertones. The blue shimmer is not very noticeable when you wear it.

As for a lip swatch, here are my bare lips:

Bare Lips…and here’s me wearing one swipe of Goodbye:

Lipstick Queen Butterfly Ball Lipstick: Goodbye

In person, it’s a bit deeper (and also my camera might be washing it out a little bit). Building it up gives you a look like you’ve gotten grape jelly on your lips. That sounds gross, but really, it’s quite pretty.

But it sounds like I’m downing the product. I’m not, really, but I want to make sure I’m accurately portraying how sheer it is so you don’t get suckered in by the pretty packaging alone. (The packaging is lovely, and the tube is slightly rubberized, so it feels lovely, too.)

The upside to this shade (the darkest of the Butterfly Ball shades) is that you can layer it over brighter lipsticks (like reds or berries) to deepen them a little. That’s a nice little plus.

As a lip treatment, this works about as well as high-end lip balms. It lasts about an hour on me, and leaves my lips softer than when I applied it. It’s especially good for Winter chapped lips, and good for days when you want a little bit of color without competing with your eye makeup or looking too done. You can apply it without a mirror.

Would I buy another Butterfly Ball shade? No. But I do like this one, and will probably finish my tube, which is something.

One thought on “Going to the Butterfly Ball: Lipstick Queen Lip Treatment in Goodbye

Leave A Reply

