A Lazy Skincare Saturday with Lush’s Catastrophe Cosmetic Mask

Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask by LushTruth be told, as much as I love color cosmetics, I don’t pay much mind to skincare. My skin– my boringly combination skin– more or less behaves itself without much interference. I had absolutely terrible skin in high school, but my hormones resolved themselves, and the persistent acne more or less went away. My pores are normal, the ruddiness around my nose is easily masked with some concealer, and breakouts generally only come when I’m expecting Aunt Flo.  I don’t think I’ve ever had a blackhead.

So my skincare routine is pretty basic. I usually shower at night, so I wash my face in the shower. (If my husband is joining me, I take great pleasure in dramatically smearing my mascara down my face and menacingly singing the chorus to Manson’s “The Beautiful People” at him. Because that’s what married life is like.)  If I don’t shower at night, I get my makeup off with Neutrogena wipes before bed.  I exfoliate a few times a week to get rid of winter flakies. I only use moisturizer if my skin feels tight or dry, which is not particularly often. I’m not even sure what toner does. I don’t use eye cream or anti-aging anything.  And yet, for all of that cavalier attitude, I have the kind of skin that often gets me asked what my major is at the ripe old age of 30. So I don’t fuss too much.

That said, hoo boy did December kick me in the ass. Or rather, in the face. It was one of the most stressful months I can remember, and the result was several aggravated and angry breakouts. Whiteheads and even some cystic ones, along my chin and cheeks.  I was really unhappy, and so was my skin.

I hied myself to Lush to snag a face mask to control the damage. Usually I am faithful to Brazened Honey for brightness, but now I had a completely new need.  The overzealous-but-friendly sales associate there (and really, is there any other kind?) suggested several that were for calming the skin, and in the end, I chose Catastrophe Cosmetic. It’s got blueberries, calamine, chamomile, moss, and rose to soothe skin in crisis. It’s also completely cruelty free.

Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask by LushI also love that it tells you who made your mask. Thanks, Adrian!

Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask by Lush

One pot is roughly enough for four liberal applications, or five moderate ones. I am currently on mask 4.

It’s a lot thicker and harder to spread than other Lush masks I’ve tried. It has a very clay-like texture, and considering it’s supposed to be refrigerated, that can mean it takes some effort to get it onto your face. Add to that, it’s a kind of oogy greenish-grey with chunky bits in it.

Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask by Lush

Basically, you look extra sexy when you wear it, is what I’m saying.

But no matter, what’s awesome is that it works. My skin feels super soft when I wash it off, and any redness in my skin is noticeably calmer. My skin is almost back to normal– the actual raised bumps have gone away, and now I’m just waiting for the last of the redness to fade, as well.

Also, no mask post would be complete without a snapshot making a zombie face. I have a nice little collection of these. I often send them to my husband while he’s at work.

Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask by LushA final addendum– there’s another skincare product I’ve been meaning to recommend for awhile now. I’m on my third pot of it right now, and it’s probably the best (and best-smelling) facial exfoliator I’ve ever tried.

Clean Slate Emulsifying Facial Scrub by Paintbox SoapworksBehold Clean Slate Emulsifying Facial Scrub by Paintbox Soapworks. It’s a very nice mid-grade scrub that’s gentle enough to use multiple times a week. It’s got charcoal for oily, acne-prone skin, and it smells just awesome. Like a slightly minty herb garden. Very spa-like and addictive.  If you’re in the market for a new face scrub, I heartily recommend this one.

Happy Saturday!

4 thoughts on “A Lazy Skincare Saturday with Lush’s Catastrophe Cosmetic Mask

  1. Clean Slate is the best exfoliator I’ve ever used, hands down, and I have tried a lot since my skin is oily and blackhead prone -yet flaky! It’s just a joy. Clean Slate rocks my socks, though. And my face.

  2. I’ll have to try out one of their masks!

    I started regularly using night cream and an SPF 15 face lotion during the day around when I turned 30. It was a very good decision, especially as I do not have a baby face — very angular. I’ve tried a whole lot of face creams and my favorite, hands down is a health food store brand, Reviva.

Leave A Reply

