Indie Spotlight: Darling Girl Cosmetics

Darling Girl Cosmetics

One of my favorite things in life are duochrome products. I absolutely love the magical shift of colors, whether it be makeup, decor, or the pigments I use in my own jewelry work. So when I happened upon Darling Girl Cosmetics, I was in duochrome heaven.

In the end, I purchased several shades, and I also received a free blogger pack for review. All of my thoughts on these products are completely honest and my own.

First up, the blogger pack.

Darling Girl Cosmetics Blogger Pack

I received samples of Sirena (Diamond Dust), Rainbow Brite (Rainbow Brite Series), Stargazer, Fab In Fiji Soft Focus Blush, Grown Men Cry, Miss Argentina, and Stay Beautiful Lip Balm.

The shades I purchased were:

Hope, Prometheus, Buddy Blue

Hope (Diamond Dust), Prometheus (Stardust), Buddy Blue (Rainbow Brite Series

Sexxy Girlfriend! Flustered, Simply Sweet

Sexxy Girlfriend! Flustered, Simply Sweet

Fantasia Blush, Obviously A Wig

Fantasia Blush, Obviously A Wig

Liquid Kiss Lippies: Cutie Pie, Rach

Liquid Kiss Lippies: Cutie Pie, Rach

Onto the swatches and my thoughts. Once again, I have swatched each shade both over bare skin and over Fyrinnae’s Pixie epoxy to simulate a foiled look.

Throwing Stones, Flustered

Grown Men Cry, Flustered

Grown Men Cry: Light baby blue with violet undertones. I’d say “light baby blue” is on the mark, and I was impressed that it didn’t go on chalky at all. I tend warm, and it looked quite nice on me.

Flustered: Cocoa brown with strong hot pink flash. Sort of a medium brown with a vague mauve-y flash. Definitely not hot pink, and definitely not as strong as what I was expecting. Very nice, but if you were expecting a very strong color shift, you may be disappointed. Still, this is great for everyday use.

Sexxy Girlfriend!, Miss Argentina

Sexxy Girlfriend!, Miss Argentina

Sexxy Girlfriend: Mint green with pink shift and aqua sparkle. Let me start by saying that each of these shades had strong pink shift that my camera resolutely refused to capture. The website description is quite accurate, thought the blue shimmers aren’t particularly visible on the skin. They kinda showed up in the picture, though. Weird!

Miss Argentina: Pale minty slightly blueish green with red undertones, flashes of copper and shimmering lavender shimmer. What an 80’s throwback of a color! I love it, even if it’s not necessarily the most flattering on my warm skin tone. True story, when I was, like, eight, I had a pink Barbie Dream Car that I hated because it was pink, so my dad spray painted it this exact shade of turquoise/aqua, and then I loved it. But as I used it, patches of that pink showed through. This eyeshadow is like the makeup version of that Barbie Dream Car, sweartogod. It also fits the Beetlejuice character for which it was named quite nicely. I don’t get copper or lavender shimmer from it, but rather turquoise with strong pink flash.

Stargazer, Obviously A Wig

Stargazer, Obviously A Wig

Stargazer: Gorgeous red pink with soft blue duochrome. That description is pretty spot on. The duochrome comes out more when foiled, and this was one of my favorites that I received. It doesn’t hurt that stargazer lilies are my absolute favorites– I have a giant oblique tattoo with several of them winding around my hip.

Obviously A Wig: Shifting magenta that reflects sugary blue in some lights. OOOOH, I LOVE IT. I am a big fan of magenta shadows, and this one wins in a big way, especially foiled, where the blue really pops. It tickles me that this is the exact shade of my hair at the moment, which is, by the by, not a wig. 🙂

Prometheus, Simply Sweet

Prometheus, Simply Sweet

Prometheus (Stardust):Cream with color shifts from red, gold, blue to purple. The Stardust shades are like the Rainbow Brite shades in that they’re best layered. I am kicking myself that I didn’t check that out before photographing them. Over bare skin, it’s kind of a shimmery white with pinky highlights. I did find that it got patchy when foiled. It wasn’t really my favorite.

Simply Sweet: this was a GWP, so I don’t have a description for it from the website. It falls in that category of Mac Melon / Fyrinnae Rapunzel Had Extensions / Urban Decay X category, though it is not quite as coral-toned. It’s a pretty golden pink, and one that should look fantastic on most people as an all-over lid wash for bright eyes.

Sirena Diamond Dust, Hope Diamond Dust

Sirena Diamond Dust, Hope Diamond Dust

Sirena (Diamond Dust): Dust lilac with green shift and blue sheen/sparkle. This reminded me a lot of MUFE’s Plum Holodiam Powder. I would say it’s actually a red-based plum with strong teal shift. It is sparkly like a mofo without being disco ball-esque. Over dark colors, it’s amazing!

Hope (Diamond Dust): Baby pink with golden green shift and sparkle. Baby pink with grass green sparkle. Lemme just say that a) I was super shocked with how this applied (mostly green!) and b) I had big application issues with this one. The texture is really powdery and did not play well if you have to blend it into something else. I would say if you’re gonna use this one, use a sticky base, like Pixie Epoxy, and pat it on top. ETA: This has since become a big favorite for me, once I pressed it. I use it all the time, and the application issues were completely eliminated!

Rainbow Brite, Buddy Blue

Rainbow Brite, Buddy Blue

Rainbow Brite

Rainbow Brite, Buddy Blue

Rainbow Brite, Buddy Blue

Rainbow Brite, Buddy Blue

Darling Girl Cosmetics: Rainbow Brite and Buddy Blue

Rainbow Brite: Pale, baby pink with red shift and a rainbow of star sprinkles.

Buddy Blue: Off-white in the jar, but when swatched, it has an awesome turquoise/blue iridescence and little blue star sprinkles.

The Rainbow Brite series, like the Stardust series, are highlighters meant to be layered so that they produce pretty duochromey effects. Embarrassing and yet still awesome confession? I had a period when I was about four where I absolutely, resolutely refused to answer to any other name than Rainbow Brite. Four year old me, I salute you.

Okay, back to the shades. I swatched them over bare skin, white, black, and Pixie Epoxy.  First off, I was a bit disappointed with Rainbow Brite. There are no rainbows! Just a baby pink shift. SADNESS.  Buddy Blue was better– the turquoise and blue shift is really evident, and fun to play with. It was also much less powerdery than Rainbow Brite.

Fantasia, Fiji

Fantasia DuoChrome Blush, Fiji Soft Focus Blush

Fantasia DuoChrome Blush

Fantasia DuoChrome Blush

Fantasia DuoChrome Blush: Gorgeous orange/coral with a very subtle violet shift. That’s pretty accurate. The violet was more apparent in person than in the above picture. Being a blush coward like I am, I may never wear this out of the house, but it is really fun to play with. It blended very nicely, and you don’t need a lot of it!

Fiji

Fab in Fiji Soft Focus Blush

Fab in Fiji Soft Focus Blush: Lightest of light brown with golden sheen. I would definitely say this is more of a soft peach with a golden sheen. Very natural and flattering, especially if you’re peaches and cream-toned like me.

Cutie Pie

Cutie Pie

Cutie Pie

Cutie Pie

Cutie Pie Liquid Kiss Luxe: Coral with color-shifting mica. Although subtle, at the right light you can see flashes of lilac, silver, red to a greenish-blue hue. Unless you are layering over a very, very dark lipstick, chances are you’re only eve going to get a pretty sheer coral pink with strong berry pink shimmer. My picture didn’t really pick up the shimmer, but it’s evident in person. Very wearable for daytime looks.

Rach

Rach

Rach

Rach

Rach Liquid Kiss Luxe: Vibrant magenta with strong blue shift. This one is basically Obviously A Wig in lippie form. I was suuuuper impressed with the evenness of application and pigmentation. The blue shift is gorgeous.

Stay Beautiful

Stay Beautiful

Darling Girl Cosmetics Stay BeautifulStay Beautiful Kiss You Off Lip Balm: Stunning orange coral with violet undertones. It’s indeed a coral pink, very wearable if you’re not ready to go full-on orange. I personally didn’t get violet from it, unless you count that it does somewhat lean cool so it’s pretty versatile for many skin tones.

Rach, Cutie Pie, Stay Beautiful

Rach, Cutie Pie, Stay Beautiful

Formula-wise, the glosses are completely non-sticky. How you feel about that depends. Sticky lasts longer (indeed, these are not super long-lasting), but the trade off is that your hair isn’t constantly getting stuck to them. Victory! I myself a not a big gloss person, so I thought they were quite nice. The balm is a tinted balm. Feels nice on. All three products had a very faint cocoa butter scent, but nothing overpowering or off-putting.

And that’s all that’s fit to print! I want to do a Stargazer/Obviously a Wig look soon, so keep an eye out!

4 thoughts on “Indie Spotlight: Darling Girl Cosmetics

  1. I love the Stay Beautiful Kiss You Off Lip Balm on you! It’s gorgeous! Obviously a Wig is really cool as well. I’ve never seen a gittery eyeshadow with such a high pigmentation like that. Very cool. I liked your pictures by the way. I hate when beauty bloggers post about products, and don’t bother including pictures of the products.

    • Thanks! Obviously a Wig is more of a duochrome shimmer than an outright glitter, but it is suuuuper pigmented.

      My big beauty blog pet peeve is when bloggers swatch lip stuff on their arms but not on the lips. There is sometimes a huuuuuge difference!

  2. I wanna try that “Wig” shadow and “Rach” lipstick too! I’m also looking out for the world’s best fae blue shades. I’m in a blue mood this year, it seems.

  3. Pingback: New Darling Girl Cosmetics Swatches! |

Leave A Reply

