Rimmel London’s Scandal Eyes Could Use More Drama

My desire to have white and black pencils were twofold. For one, I wanted to have them for swatching. As you’ll see in an upcoming swatch post, there are some shades that are made for layering, and some duochromes really come alive over white or black. for two, I wanted shades that I could use on my waterline on the rare occasions that I color them in. It’s a good look for stage, but I have fairly sensitive eyes, so I don’t do it all the time.

Rimmel London Scandal Eyes Pencils

I purchased these at Walgreens, when I was in a hurry. It wasn’t until I got home that I actually noticed that I hadn’t bought matte black and matte white. But no matter. I’m flexible.

The first product is the Scandal Eyes Eyeshadow Stick in Witness White, which is pearly white. The second is the Scandal Eyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner in Sparkling Black, a light black with silvery microshimmers. I say “light black” because it’s not really the dark, rich black I associate with kohls, but this is too dark to be called a grey.

Rimmel London Scandal Eyes Eyeshadow Pencil: Witness White

Rimmel London Scandal Eyes Kohl Pencil: Sparkling BlackFirst things first: I was not at all impressed with the white eyeshadow stick. It’s got too much slip, frankly, and never quite dries enough so that it doesn’t feel greasy. It also smudges really, really easily, even over primer. Even the stick is so soft that it breaks easily. Bah!

The good news is that I liked the black liner much better. It’s soft and very easy to work into the waterline without irritation. If you’re going for real drama, though, you might want something that’s a truly saturated black. According to Musings of a Muse, they do have such a shade in their lineup.

Rimmel London Scandal Eyes PencilsSo there you have it. Pass on the eyeshadow stick, but give the liner a try!

One thought on “Rimmel London’s Scandal Eyes Could Use More Drama

Leave A Reply

