An Old Classic Becomes My New Favorite

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick: Cherries In The Snow

I’ve long heard much ado about a beloved drugstore lipstick shade, part of Revlon’s Super Lustrous Lipstick line. As you might already know, I’m talking about Cherries In The Snow.  I first read about it on Lipglossiping, but since then it seems like I’ve heard it referenced by everyone and their mom (literally: on my way to AOTB this weekend, my troupemate Lyra told me it’s her mom’s favorite). It makes sense– it’s been around since the 50’s, and was apparently a preferred shade of Marilyn Monroe’s. So, you know, I had to try it.

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick: Cherries In The Snow

When I finally opened the tube, I was surprised at how bright it was! Having swatched a few of the Maybelline Vivids, but not yet having worked up the courage to actually wear them out of the house, I was a bit worried that this would be more of the same. But I screwed up my courage and wore it twice this weekend, figuring if there was ever a place to wear loud makeup, it’s a bellydance convention, right?

All told, I actually found it very easy to wear, and even moderately hydrating. The color is halfway between raspberry and hot pink, and the formula has a flawless, smooth cream finish that has surprising longevity. It also stains like a mother. I used makeup wipes to get my makeup off, and the next morning, my lips were the exact shade of pink they get after a long makeout session. I shall therefore call the stain phase “flustered pink.”

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick: Cherries In The Snow

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick: Cherries In The Snow

I found it very flattering on my skin tone, and if you’re neutral cool to warm, it’ll probably look nice on you, too. I would not recommend it or ruddy skin tones.

Anyhow, my husband actually complimented me on it, which is high, high praise. I may have to wear it more often!

5 thoughts on “An Old Classic Becomes My New Favorite

  1. My issue with Revlon lipstick is the taste. I don’t like it. Which is a shame because I do like some of their colors and generally they feel pretty nice. But I lick my lips an awful lot and when I wear Revlon I make a face right after.

  2. I’m so glad you reviewed Revlon’s iconic Cherries In The Snow. I discovered this beautiful 1950’s classic last fall and was amazed how I had finally found my perfect shade of red- and it had been hiding in plain site! I am head over heels in love with this shade and the formulation is sublime. Check out Revlon nail polishes- they will not dissapoint. Great review! Get the word out so this color will never be discontinued. Viva la Revlon! Lol!

Leave A Reply

