I Have A New Holy Grail Mascara!

Well damn, this was unexpected! The full-size mascara from Buxom that I got this month’s PopSugar box is abso-freaking-lutely phenomenal.  I love it so much that I feel comfortable calling it my new Holy Grail mascara. It will be repurchased.

I am, of course, talking about the Sculpted Lash Mascara, which retails for $19.

Buxom Sculpted Lash Mascara

I will admit that when I first saw the wavy S-shaped brush, I was skeptical. I mean, it looks totally gimmick-y, right?

Buxom Sculpted Lash MascaraWRONG. It’s actually complete mascara genius.

Those wavy bits allow you to get into every nook and cranny of your lashes on the first try, completely hugging them so you get a nice even coat with ZERO clumps. Not kidding. ZERO CLUMPS. It separates them out so nicely, and is very easy to handle and use. I found it nicely lengthening and moderately volumizing. The end result is lashes that are very defined but still quite soft looking.

Ready for proof?

Before and after, 1 coat!

Before and after, 1 coat!

BOOM. PROOF.

Now, it’s not the blackest black, but depending on how many coats you use, you can build this up for drama. The best part for me, personally, is that at the end of the day, I don’t have those awkward black smudges under my eyebrows that I often get with mascaras. It does not smudge easily, at all.

I LOVE THIS STUFF.

6 thoughts on “I Have A New Holy Grail Mascara!

  1. I seem to go along with weirdly shaped mascara wands too! 🙂 I was a big fan of Bourjois’s 1001 lashes for some time.

    Don’t you find it difficult to repurchase makeup products, even if you love them? I always have this stupid nagging thought “what if there’s something even better out there that I haven’t tried yet?”.

    • Some products, yeah– like lipsticks, I am always convinced that a new color could be absolutely life-changing. That said, I think that unless there’s a formula change, I am a devotee of Kat Von D’s foundation. While I like to try other BBs, nothing thus far has compared to Dr. Jart on my fair skin. And this mascara will DEFINITELY be a repurchased because it’s so versatile!

  2. That’s nice coverage for one coat! Dang though, $19 is pretty pricey. I’ve never spent more then $6 on a mascara. However, it does look like it worked very well for you especially that only being one coat. Still, I think I’ll have to stick with my drugstore brands for now even if it takes more coats ;P

    • There are a lot of good drugstore mascaras out there. I particularly love The Falsies Flared. That said, while I LIKED Diorshow Extase, there is NO WAY I’d drop that cash on a mascara. But the Buxom one, while pricey, isn’t $30-something, so I can aaaaaalmost justify it!

Leave A Reply

