Paintbox Soapworks: New For Spring!

Paintbox Soapworks is one of two indie soapers that I have been loyal to for years. The other is Villainess, but my stockpile (really– stockpile) of Villainess soaps are mostly LEs from last fall (AUTUMN GALA), which means I’ll have to place another order for more recent stuff to show you. WOE, MY LIFE. TWIST MY ARM, WHY DON’T YOU.

Aaaaaanyway. Hayley of Paintbox Soapworks released the first wave of her Spring LEs last week, and of course I had to try them. The only scent I did not purchase was Bluebird In The Lilacs, because lilac is one of those florals that makes me sneeze endlessly.

First up is Bramble & Apple Luxury Glycerin Soap.

Paintbox Soapworks Bramble & Apple SoapIf you read “glycerin” and though “great, so it’ll melt in two uses,” think again. I have never tried a glycerin bar as long lasting as this formula. First of all, it has some heft to it. Second of all, it outlasts other glycerin bars I’ve tried by at least a week. I get very dry skin in winter, and while I would not call them moisturizing, I will say that they are in no way drying to me. The scents stay bright and clear– one bar will scent my bathroom entirely. So that’s nice!

Scent wise, this is pure black currant with a bite of appley tartness, super juicy. Fresh and candy-like at the same time. I dig it.

Paintbox Soapworks Crickhollow Cottage and Halcyon Sorbettos Paintbox Soapworks Crickhollow Cottage and Halcyon Sorbettos

I also purchased two sample sizes of her sugar scrub, Sorbetto. I love that she offers mini scrubs. I like to try out scents out of my comfort zone, and I also have ADD of the nose. In my experience, these scrubs tend to be on the softer, more pampering side and are not especially harsh on the skin.

Crickhollow Cottage was one I was nervous about. Hydrangea could be awesome, or it could be grandma-esque. After sniffing, I tentatively like it. I’m glad I did not purchase a full size, but if you like hydrangeas, this is a SPOT ON rendition.  My husband’s contribution was that it smells like rich people soap. Very helpful, honey.

Halcyon, I bought because of the name. It’s one of my favorite words. Sniffing it, I definitely get teak and honeysuckle. The weird thing is that it evokes something from my childhood, but I cannot for the life of me figure out what. It’s like sitting on the hillside in Riverside Park in the hour before the sun goes down, when the light is all thick and golden. So, you know, well done with the name and all. This one is going to be a full-sized purchase for sure.

Paintbox Soapworks Order ExtrasI have never gotten a Paintbox order without an extra treat or two. Most commonly, I get these little samples squares, which are AWESOME for traveling and the perfect size for a purse. Occasionally, Hayley spoils me rotten, as she did this time by including these two heart lotion/massage bars left over from her Valentine’s release. I was so sad to have missed them, but I can’t WAIT to try them out. They’re ambery-rose, so you KNOW I already love them.

If you’re new to the brand, my favorites in her lineup are Gingermilk and The Englishman. My other ultimate favorite, A Walk In The Woods, was sadly discontinued, and I eagerly await the day she reintroduces something that will send me into woodsy bliss.

One thought on “Paintbox Soapworks: New For Spring!

  1. Thank you for the reviews. I’d been itching to get a better idea about some of the new scents. Also Gingermilk is amazing.

Leave A Reply

