Pacifica Promises Good Karma for Your Skin

Pacifica Good Karma Skincare Set

After falling in love with my Pacifica Tuscan Blood Orange set, I surfed over to their website to see what else I’d been missing since I last checked out their range.  After being tempted by their offer of a free Color Quench Lip Tint, I took the plunge and ordered the Good Karma Skincare Set ($22).

It includes:

— Sea Foam Complete Face Wash .7 oz (travel-size)
— Dreamy Youth Day and Night Cream .7 oz (travel-size)
— Alight Multi-Mineral BB Cream .34 oz (travel-size)
— Guava Berry Color Quench Lip Tint (full-size)

 

Pacifica Good Karma Skincare Set

Pacifica, as previously mentioned, is vegan, cruelty free, and free of some of the most despised additives in the beauty industry. If you want to know more, here is an additional shot of the packaging. Click to embiggen!

Pacifica Good Karma Skincare Set

Pacifica Good Karma Skincare Set

First things first: the Alight Multi-Mineral BB Cream, a full size of which sells for $16. I was really not a fan. While it may appear to be a good match for my skin in the swatch, this thing disappears when worn, and not in a good way. What I mean is that it did not do anything for the redness in my skin in any way, shape or form. My skin tone looked slightly warmer, but the ruddiness around my nose was totally untouched. Yes, my skin felt more hydrated and dewy.  That was very nice. But what’s the point of a flesh-toned product if it barely has any tint when blended out, that will only work for you if you already have blemish-free, even skin? Why not just make a luminizing moisturizer?

Another strike against the product is that I expect my BBs to have SPF in them. When BBs hit the mainstream, their appeal was that they multitask. If this product cannot take the place of sunscreen, primer, or foundation, it doesn’t strike me as a multitasker at all, and is just claiming to be a BB to ride the BB buzz gravy train.

On a final note, as much as I would like it to truly adapt to “many” skin tones as it claims, this is just not going to cut it for most ladies of color, particularly ones with deep complexions. That is a gripe I have about MANY BBs, not just Pacifica’s, but it always strikes me as an unfortunate and frustrating oversight. This is not a Korean product developed for the Asian market, as many of the best-known BBs have been. This is an American product developed for an American audience.  Why not release two or three shades to start, rather than excluding a large potential customer base?

Overall, I was pretty baffled with this product and more than a little disappointed. I’m glad I didn’t purchase a full-size.

Pacifica Alight Multi-Mineral BB Cream

I have a much better opinion of the Dreamy Youth Day and Night Face Cream, the full size of which is $20. It goes on and sinks into the skin without feeling greasy, and it significantly decreased the way my makeup tends to stick to the dry patches around my nose within three days of wear. It has a mild minty scent, and it made me chuckle because it reminded me of that time Regina George was convinced foot cream was facial lotion in Mean Girls. Don’t worry, though, your face won’t smell like a foot.

The Sea Foam Complete Face Wash ($11 for a full size) was also quite nice. I used it on a face full of makeup, including my Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation, and it took everything off without harsh scrubbing. It also has a deeeeeelicious coconut cream scent. Yum.

The final product in the kit was a Color Quench Lip Tint in Guava Berry. It definitely gets points for texture– like Blood Orange, which I already own, the avocado and coconut oils feel very nourishing. The scent is pleasant, kind of like old-school Lip Smackers– it reminded me a bit of tropical fruit bubblegum. Unlike Blood Orange, however, it had veeeeeeery sheer pigmentation. Even though it looks kind of rosewood-y in the tube, it went on a slightly cool pearly pink, and unless you squinted, you’d probably just assume it was clear balm on my lips.

Sugared Fig (jumbo)

Sugared Fig (jumbo), Guava Berry (regular size)

I totally love the packaging on the regular size. I mean, I like them both, but I am a sucker for mehndi-inspired design.

I wanted to swatch it next to Sugared Fig, the jumbo balm I got for free with my order. This one looks very berry in the tube, but was also very very sheer. (It also smelled like cherry soda.) While a bit warmer than Guava Berry, they are so similar that unless you were going for the scent, you don’t need both.

Sugared Fig (jumbo) & Guava Berry (regular size)

Sugared Fig (jumbo) & Guava Berry (regular size)

Sugared Fig (jumbo) & Guava Berry (regular size)

Sugared Fig (jumbo) & Guava Berry (regular size)

Sugared Fig (jumbo)

Sugared Fig (jumbo)

Guava Berry (regular size)

Guava Berry (regular size)

Pacifica Color Quench Lip Tints - Sugared Fig and Guava Berry

Pacifica Color Quench Lip Tints - Sugared Fig and Guava BerrySo overall– I think the free jumbo balm you get for signing up for the site is a great deal. Very generous! This should be a flattering balm on everybody, precisely because it is so sheer. Truly, how well you like this balm is going to depend on what you want out of it. If you want moisture and fun scents, it’s got you covered. But if you want pigmentation in your balm, you should look elsewhere. There are much better options for that.

I’m going to finish up this review with a couple of scent impressions from their solid perfume line. For $2 a pop, you get an adorable little tin with about five uses’ worth of scent in them. At first I was shocked with how little there was, but then I dug around in it and realized there was indeed plenty in there for multiple samples. Add to that– if you spend over $25 in your order, you get a free sample. When all was said and done, I purchased two samples and got the third free because my order was $26 prior to shipping.

When the product is finished, I love that you can re-use the tin. I have so many uses for tins like this… as a jeweler, I store beads in them, scraps of silver that need to be added to my main scrap jar, anything tiny that needs to be kept together temporarily. You can also use them to to hold a custom lipstick, salvage a damaged product, or store your false eyelashes. They’re very handy!

Pacifica Solid Perfume Samples

Pacifica Solid Perfume Samples

Persian Rose: Pacifica says “our blend of Bulgarian rose, subtle violet, myrrh and delicate fruit is a nod to the floral empire of the Persians, the kings of perfume in the 9th century. Spiritual, elegant and classic.” This is a velvety-soft rose on a bed of soft resins. I didn’t get any violet or fruit, but that’s okay with me. This is not your grandma’s rose– it has a very elegant, sensual feel about it. Very feminine without scaring perfumey floral-haters (like me!).

Spanish Amber: Pacifica says “this modern and mystical blend has warm and resinous Amber notes at its heart, Rosy Geranium and woody Sandalwood in the middle and citrusy Bergamot and Elemi on top. Without a doubt, this is the best Amber in the world.” Considering I am an amber connoisseur, I thought that was a pretty bold claim. But you know, it is very nice! It’s a woody amber, not overly-sweet. I don’t get any rose geranium (thankfully!), but there’s just a hint of spicy orange on top. Very, very nice.

Tibetan Mountain Temple: Pacifica says that “vetiver and Indonesian Patchouli are the base of this tranquil, incense-like blend, while Ginger sits lightly in the middle and Orange provides expansive lift for these distinctive essential oils.” This was the one I was most worried about. In liquid perfumes, vetiver tends to be the kiss of death for me. My skin amps it, and it just smells like overwhelming musky stank. Happily, in the tin I didn’t smell any vetiver stank. I also didn’t smell hippie stank, which, admit it, is the first thing you thought of when you saw the word “patchouli.” The main note to this is definitely ginger- fresh grated ginger, with the brightness that citrus brings, even though I don’t clearly smell the citrus. On my skin, the vetiver does come out, but the ginger and patchouli keep it grounded, like warm burnishing around the edges of a well-loved bell. I actually liked it on me, but I think I may like it better on my husband.

Note: All links to Pacifica’s webpage in this post are referral links. According to Pacifica, new users will get $10 off when they make a purchase, and I will get $10 when your first order ships if you go through this link. Win win, right?

5 thoughts on “Pacifica Promises Good Karma for Your Skin

  1. I think I love you, lol, I’ve been moaning over this oversight in American BB’s for a while, it just baffles me, and now even the Korean brands have some colours for darker tones, particularly Etude House, and the American market still lags in both colour selection and skincare properties. I just picked up the Wanderlust set in an Ipsy Facebook flashset for 40% off, so I’ll be doing a dark skin review on it in a probably a week.

  2. Hi there! I saw this. It said for a dewy finish. I never mean to be rude when I comment I never want to be rude when I comment but if I maybe sound a bit harsh then comment back saying that. It said it has a natural dewy finish so it also said its not like heavy foundation concealer finish.

  3. I am also a huge Pacifica fan (both fragrance and skincare products). Great reviews, except I disagree on one little point: you can get WAY more than five uses from the perfume solids! Those are heavily concentrated and go a very long way. I have a few that I use regularly and have yet to run out of one. Personally, if I put 1/5 of that tin on at once it would be much too overpowering. Of course everyone uses beauty products differently, but just wanted to give readers another perspective on those. 🙂

Leave A Reply

