Rimmel’s Moisture Renew Lipsticks Help Me Get Colorful.

Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick – 520 Violet Pop, 900 Red AlertMakeup confession: I’m a lipstick coward. Prior to last month, I had exactly two lipsticks that were not in the brick red or MLBB family. You see, I had medium auburn hair for a very long time, and bright lipsticks just looked garish on me (or so I thought). Since my hair has been bright pink and purple, I’ve been trying to break myself of my boring lipstick habit. I still haven’t worked my way up to this summer’s upcoming neon trend just yet, but baby steps.

I was in Ulta on Sunday night, browsing their drugstore offerings. My drugstore doesn’t really have the best pick of Rimmel, and they don’t carry either Milani or Nyx, so I was hoping to find something new and interesting to try out that wouldn’t break the bank.

I’m not entirely sure why, but Rimmel’s Moisture Renew Lipstick caught my eye. I think I was looking for the Kate Moss line I’ve seen reviewed around, but my lips tend to be quite dry, so any lipstick with “moisture” in the title is going to grab my attention. I ended up purchasing two shades at $6.50 each.

Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick – 520 Violet Pop, 900 Red Alert

900 Red Alert is a nice true red cream. On me, it pulled just the slightest bit warm, but that might just be my warm skintone. I’d say it’s a good movie star red, and wearable for a variety of skintones. 520 Violet Pop is one of those cool fuchsia/magenta shades with blue-ish iridescence. It isn’t frosty, though the sheen makes it seem slightly so. Even though I tend warm, it looks pretty great on me. My husband loved it, anyway.

Red Alert:

Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick – 900 Red Alert

Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick - 900 Red Alert

Violet Pop:

Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick – 520 Violet Pop

Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick - 520 Violet Pop

Overall, these felt very nice on my lips. As you can see, they don’t stick to any dry patches, and these particular shades did not settle into any of my liplines. There is a slight floral-y perfumey scent that I did not care for in the tube, but was not detectable on the lips.

I’m pretty pleased with the purchase, overall– they let me test out some colors I may not have splurged for in higher-end brands and wore without drying my lips out. Win.

One thought on “Rimmel’s Moisture Renew Lipsticks Help Me Get Colorful.

  1. Came across this entry after looking for reviews on the Violet Pop color and I have to agree with everything you’ve said. These colors are great. I am a very pale girl with reddish skin at times and the Violet Pop color is PERFECT for my skin tone.

Leave A Reply

