Pacifica’s Blood Orange is Amazeballs.

Pacifica Tuscan Blood Orange Set

Really, I tried to come up with a more mature title. I failed. This stuff? It is amazeballs. It is mouth-wateringly delicious. The photo above is the stock picture from the website, because no lie: I could not wait to try this baby out. I ripped it open like a gift on Christmas morning.

So, backstory: lately, I have had an absolute mania for all things citrus. It kind of took me by surprise, as I tend towards heavy resins and spices in terms of scent preference. I think it began with Atelier Cologne’s Orange Sanguine, a “zesty and energizing burst of crushed ripe fruit, plays off sweet blood orange juice against bitter orange peel and sensual notes of geranium.” And then I found a DIVINE Blood Orange sorbet by Ciao Bella. It’s that lip-puckering, nothing-synthetic-about-it type of citrus that just makes my toes curl. When I came upon Pacifica‘s Tuscan Blood Orange Take Me There Set at Target (I paid $18), I was powerless to resist.

Pacifica is one of those brands that I have always had good experiences with, though I have not had very many. In my area, you used to be only able to get their products (which had been primarily candles, and later perfumes) in high-end grocers like Whole Foods or Wegman’s. Now that they’re being sold in Target, I simultaneously stoked and sad for my wallet.

Pacifica’s products are vegan, cruelty free, and made without phthalates, parabens, sulfates, propylene glycol, benzene, GMOs, and mineral oils.  I have yet to meet a Pacifica scent that didn’t make me swoon. This was no different.

Oh man. I don’t even know what to say. It’s like being in orangey heaven. One of my favorite scents when I started using scented products was The Body Shop’s Satsuma, because it had that true-to-life juicy freshness that most orange-scented products lack. This reminds me a lot of Satsuma, except it is more tart and even more juicy. It reminds me of summer, and beaches, and… I’m sorry, I’m drooling now.

IMG_7573

The body butter itself is a nice consistency– it sinks into the skin without being greasy so long as you don’t pile it on. I’d suggest using a thin layer and gauging from there. It is highly scented– even moreso than the perfume, I’d wager.

IMG_7576

The perfume comes packaged in a thin glass roll-on. Like most orange-based scents, it is not particularly long lasting (it will be gone in 2 hrs or so), but that’s fine with me because the roll on is PERFECT for touch ups, and I like that I’m not going to knock anyone out when I walk into a room.

IMG_7575

IMG_7579IMG_7597

The lip balm is one of their new Color Quench Lip Tints. It’s pretty big for a lip balm, and though costs more than your average balm if you buy it separately ($7-9), you get quite a lot of product.  It is lightly scented with that same yummy orange fragrance.  On my lips, it imparted a slightly frosty coral tint. It has a fair amount of slip, but I did feel that it sunk into my lips rather than just sitting waxily on top of it.

Also, I love the packaging. I really, really love Pacifica’s wanderlust-oriented aesthetic, and I’m eager to try some of their new skincare line, like the Good Karma Skincare Set. Plus, I need to get to sniffin’– Persian Rose? Tibetan Mountain Temple? YES PLEASE.

Note: All links to Pacifica’s webpage in this post are referral links. According to Pacifica, new users will get $10 off when they make a purchase, and I will get $10 when your first order ships if you go through this link. Win win, right?

One thought on “Pacifica’s Blood Orange is Amazeballs.

  1. Pingback: Pacifica Promises Good Karma for Your Skin | The Enchanted Mirror: A Beauty Blog

Leave A Reply

