I Am Purple.

Two days ago, I re-colored my hair. Previously, it was a bright magenta with a faded deep purple under layer. This time, I added a medium purple gradient to the bottom. I think, in retrospect, I should have added the medium purple to the faded underlayer instead of re-applying the deep purple, because layering that back in made an underlayer so dark it’s nearly black. But with all colored vegetable dyes, it will lighten considerably in the first few washes.

Blonded roots, so I can add color.

Blonded roots, so I can add color.

This was the hair mid-process, just after lightening the roots. I actually don’t bleach out the roots entirely, because when I do, I get a very neon look, and I actually prefer the deeper, berry-rich tones I get when I add SFX Virgin Rose over medium blond hair. Since my ends are SO saturated with dye from repeated dyeings that no amount of bleach will actually penetrate the stain, I am thinking of adding color close to the root when I am ready for a change. Maybe a light purple? Or yellow? Or candy pink? I am still undecided. I would looooove to do all-over turquoise, but I just don’t see that happening any time soon because I can’t lift enough of the pink out to get the effect I want.

I want to do some makeup looks in the coming week, but they will have to wait until I am no longer purple. You see, the dye that I used, Special Effects (also called SFX) is the MOST STAINING SUBSTANCE ON THE PLANET. I did all of the tricks: slathered my skin in Vaseline, the whole nine yards. I am still stained purple all over my neck, shoulders, and back from the power of the dye as I washed it out of my hair, and then the dried hair rubbing against my skin.  No amount of scrubbing with a Salux cloth is helping, so I’m just going to have to deal with it for a few more days, and then I will unveil the hair in all its purpley glory to you.

In the meanwhile, here are a couple of fun shots of it from the last month.

8417027307_69ff69afb2_o

Blonding the roots so I can add color.

These were taken at about the two week mark after my last dye, so the colors are a little bit lighter than when they were fresh. The top is SFX Virgin Rose, and the underside is SFX Deep Purple. The fun rainbows are actually clip ins from I Kick Shins. I love to add a contrasting bit when I wear my hair in a ponytail, and have about ten different kinds from that shop, as well as Miss Violet Lace. It gives me fabulous My Little Pony hair, forreals, and little girls squeal over it. SO CUTE.

Anywho! pics of the current dye job once I no longer look like Barney. Ciao!

2 thoughts on “I Am Purple.

Leave A Reply

