Quick Thoughts on Urban Decay’s Naked Skin BB

As the entire beauty world goes BB crazy, Urban Decay is touting the release of the new Naked Skin Beauty Balm. I received a sample as a gift-with-purchase from Urban Decay when I purchased the Naked Palette in their recent F&F sale.

Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm

Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm

This thing promises the moon, the stars, and everything in the kitchen sink, to boot. In this little booklet, Urban Decay claims their Naked Skin BB evens skin tone, minimizes pores, wrinkles, and redness, protects with SPF 20, acts as an anti-aging treatment, hydrates the skin, and also acts as a primer. It optically blurs! It repairs your DNA! (Please, please let me wake up tomorrow as Black Widow.)

They also give you the results of a clinical study that back this up.  I mean, they’re setting the expectation bar pretty high.

Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm

Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm

You’d think that with all of that info, they’d have thought to tell me what shade I was sent to sample. Alas, it’s nowhere in the booklet or on the sample itself.

ETA: Aha! A reader has informed me that their BB only comes in one shade.

I am fair in general– I believe I was a NW 20 & NW 25 when I wore MAC foundation, and I generally try the second lightest in any new foundation first. This sample was too dark for me, even though it was sheer. It might fit in the summer when I’m outside a lot, but it definitely didn’t match my winter skin.

Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm

Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm – heavy, then blended

Nevertheless, I did try it on my face just to feel the texture. It was nice! If you want something that evens your skin tone but doesn’t feel makeup-y at all, this could be a good thing for you to try, because I seriously could not feel it on my face when it was set.  The coverage was overall light to medium, with a natural matte finish.

If you have dry skin (which I do, at the moment), you may want to moisturize first, as it emphasized the dryness around my nose and did not, in my opinion, live up to its claim of instant hydration. It did not cover up a blemish I have, so concealer is still needed for that. It did not settle into the fine lines on my forehead, but it also didn’t cover the redness in my chin as much as I’d have liked. So overall, my quick assessment is “meh.” Right now I’m over the moon with my Dr Jart+ Water Fuse BB, and I won’t be switching.

I think I may save my sample and come back to it in the summer for a wear test.

Leave A Reply

