I Am The Last Beauty Blogger On Earth To Own A Naked Palette

Urban Decay Naked Palette

Urban Decay Naked Palette

So, the thing about me is that I have a tendency to hem and haw over high-end beauty products. I’m often on a budget, and while I’ll often splurge on a drugstore lippie or nail polish, higher-end purchases are contemplated endlessly before I plunk down my cash. Case in point: as my Stila In The Light palette comes to an end, I’d been rehashing the pros and cons of Urban Decay’s new build your own palette system vs. one of their lauded Naked palettes for over a month.

Urban Decay just had a friends and family sale, and the 20% proved too tempting for me. I settled on the original Naked palette, as Naked2 is cooler toned, and three of the six shades in Naked Basics just seemed too similar.

Urban Decay Naked Palette

Urban Decay Naked Palette

For $50 (before the discount), the value you get is really quite wonderful. 12 shades in a velvety compact, with a large mirror, PLUS an actually useful brush and a mini of their Primer Potion for eyes.

Urban Decay Primer Potion

Urban Decay Primer Potion, mini alongside my regular size

Urban Decay Karma Brush

Urban Decay Good Karma Brush

The colors are:

Virgin (nude satin), Sin (champagne shimmer), Naked (buff matte), Sidecar (beige sparkle), Buck (brown matte), Half Baked (bronze), Smog (golden brown shimmer), Darkhorse (bronze-plum shimmer), Toasted (taupe-bronze), Hustle (mocha shimmer), Creep (near-black metallic), Gunmetal (dark grey metallic).

Urban Decay Naked Palette - Virgin, Sin, Naked, Sidecar

Urban Decay Naked Palette – Virgin, Sin, Naked, Sidecar

Urban Decay Naked Palette - Virgin, Sin, Naked, Sidecar

Urban Decay Naked Palette – Virgin, Sin, Naked, Sidecar

Urban Decay Naked Palette - Buck, Half Baked, Smog, Darkhorse

Urban Decay Naked Palette – Buck, Half Baked, Smog, Darkhorse

Urban Decay Naked Palette - Buck, Half Baked, Smog, Darkhorse

Urban Decay Naked Palette – Buck, Half Baked, Smog, Darkhorse

Urban Decay Naked Palette - Toasted, Hustle, Creep, Gunmetal

Urban Decay Naked Palette – Toasted, Hustle, Creep, Gunmetal

Urban Decay Naked Palette - Toasted, Hustle, Creep, Gunmetal

Urban Decay Naked Palette – Toasted, Hustle, Creep, Gunmetal

I am super excited to get to play with this and show some looks over the next few weeks. From just swatching, I can say these guys have pretty great texture  and offer lots of options in one palette– great for traveling! As I am neutral-warm, this is nice for me, but if you’re neutral-cool, or cool, you may want to look at Naked2 instead.

The only downside I see so far is that there’s no cream matte for blending. Naked Basics offers three, but I think it’s a basic that was sadly overlooked here.

I can’t wait to report back!

2 thoughts on “I Am The Last Beauty Blogger On Earth To Own A Naked Palette

  1. Actually, you are the second-to-last — I will be the last when I get the Naked palette for my birthday in a month. I’m like you and I’ve been contemplating this purchase for quite a while, finally deciding that I’d feel less guilty about it if I just got it as a gift…the downside being that I have to still wait a bit before I can begin playing with it too.

  2. I’ve eyed this palette a few times at Sephora but had yet to pick it up. Maybe I will on my next trip! As for UD Primer Potion, I’d be lost without! Always has been a staple in my makeup drawer.

Leave A Reply

