Drugstore Deals – Finally, A Decent Cream Eyeshadow!

When talking about makeup, I generally think that there are items where you should ONLY go high-end (eyeshadow!), and then items where there’s not much difference between the high-end brands and their drugstore brethren. Mascara usually falls into this category (Maybelline makes some of the best mascara on the market, perfectly comparable to Diorshow, imo).

If you’d have asked me a few months ago, I would have scoffed at the idea that there’d be a cream eyeshadow that would hold up to high-end versions. MAC’s Paint Pots have been generally well-regarded since their release, and Benefit’s have also gotten high marks. Then came Maybelline. They accomplished two pretty remarkable feats with the release of their 24 Hour Tattoo by Eyestudio cream eyeshadow line: one, this stuff is actually pretty damn fantastic for $6, and two, the color range has some colors that you usually only see in some of the riskier high-end lines, like MUFE, Illamasqua, or Urban Decay. Like, there’s a FUCHSIA. Fuchsia. Anyhow, when I saw these on 1/2 price sale at Rite Aid, I pounced.

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Cream Eyeshadows

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Cream Eyeshadows

Okay, so generally,cream shadow can be used in a couple of ways. It can be used on its own for a quick wash of color, which is how I used it here:

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Cream Eyeshadow - Inked in Pink and Tough As Taupe

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Cream Eyeshadow – Inked in Pink (inner corner) and Tough As Taupe (rest of lid)

You can apply it with either brushes or fingers. Considering the only time I’d wear it on its own would be if I were applying a 5-minute makeup, I went with fingers here just to see what I could do. And although Tough as Taupe was too cool-toned for me to use as a lid wash, I was really impressed with the texture. It has a sort of silicone-y feel, with good slip, but it sets after about two minutes.

The second way you can use a cream shadow is as a primer for your powder shadows, to make them last longer and enhance their colors. I used it this way, too, with really impressive results (you can see it in my Valentine’s Day look later this week). Powder shadows blended beautifully on top of them, and lasted all day long without creasing on me or my color fading (7 hrs without The Balm Put A Lid On It primer, 9+ with primer). The only mild disappointment I had was that Fuchsia Fever actually swatched more burgundy on my lid, and sheerer than my arm swatch. But, as I will be using these mostly as color primers, that wasn’t too much of a problem for me.

Now, I should note that there have been a few shades in this line that have gotten less-glowing reviews from other beauty bloggers, but overall the line is a breakthrough for drugstore makeup. I do wish they had a warm brown, but as they periodically release LE additions, maybe they’ll add one. I also liked the packaging– you get a lot of product for your buck, and in a hefty glass pot that’s sturdy and smooth.

Tenacious Teal is more of a blue than a teal. Inked In Pink is an icy pink metallic. Tough As Taupe is a greyish brown, a cool nude. Audacious Asphalt is a slightly metallic gunmetal. Fuchsia Fever is a blueish magenta.

Onto the swatches!

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Metal Cream - Tenacious Teal

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Metal Cream – Tenacious Teal

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Metal Cream Eyeshadow - Inked in Pink

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Metal Cream Eyeshadow – Inked in Pink

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Cream Eyeshadow - Tough as Taupe

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Cream Eyeshadow – Tough as Taupe

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Cream Eyeshadow - Audacious Asphalt

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Cream Eyeshadow – Audacious Asphalt

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Cream Eyeshadow - Fuchsia Fever

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Cream Eyeshadow – Fuchsia Fever

Inked in Pink, Fuchsia Fever, Tenacious Teal, Audacious Asphalt, Tough as Taupe

Inked in Pink, Fuchsia Fever, Tenacious Teal, Audacious Asphalt, Tough as Taupe

Inked in Pink, Fuchsia Fever, Tenacious Teal

Inked in Pink, Fuchsia Fever, Tenacious Teal

Fuchsia Fever, Tenacious Teal, Audacious Asphalt, Tough as Taupe

Fuchsia Fever, Tenacious Teal, Audacious Asphalt, Tough as Taupe

As I mentioned earlier, Maybelline is great for mascara. My current favorite mascara is their Falsies Flared formula (though, do not mix them up and grab the regular Falsies formula… clump city!). As it turns out, just as I had run low on my Falsies Flared and was almost out of my deluxe sample of Diorshow, I came across Gouldylox Reviews’ take on their newest mascara offering.

Stupid name aside (really? “Volum'”?!), I decided to try it out.

No seriously, what a stupid name.

Maybelline The Rocket Volum’ Express Mascara

Maybelline The Rocket Volum' Express Mascara

Maybelline The Rocket Volum’ Express Mascara

Talk about a weird wand. I was a bit skeptical. But it totally works! I got amazing coverage in one coat. Now, my lashes are already pretty long, so I don’t need a lengthening mascara, but if you want longer-looking lashes minus those weird micro-fiber thingers, this might be good for you to try. It was not the plushest volume-wise, but I would say it was better than average. The wand made for piece-y, separated lashes that were artfully spikey. Like, that spikey look that’s so in right now, not, say, Tammy Faye Baker. I don’t think this is going to be my HG mascara (that’s still Falsies Flared), but I will say it’s a good mascara in general. Didn’t flake on me at all, either.

Here’s a look I did with it for Valentine’s Day:

Valentine's Day Makeup

(I’m wearing the YSL Glossy Stain in #29 Rose Forreau here, by the by.)

And a close-up of the eyes, so you can see the purdy lashes. You can’t see the Inked In Pink I used as a base, but it helped the colors on top of it blend gorgeously!

Valentine's Day Eye

7 thoughts on “Drugstore Deals – Finally, A Decent Cream Eyeshadow!

  1. I picked up the teal and tried it out yesterday (with a primer under it). Still got some creasing but no fading along the lid. Will keep testing with different primers and with shadow layered on top. Also picked up your fav mascara, it coats really well though it can get clumpy if I’m not careful but, no flaking. Not fond of the wand, though.

    I also picked up a Milani 24/7 shadow crayon (purple), will report back!

  2. Pingback: Sunset-Inspired Look | The Enchanted Mirror: A Beauty Blog

Leave A Reply

